UMGC Library

Business Research: Major Companies

Finding the Major Companies in an Industry

You can find information about the major/leading/top/key companies in an industry in the following databases:

When searching for the major companies in an industry, keep in mind that different databases may refer to industries differently, so you may need to try several different names when searching for information about a given industry. For instance, you may be able to find information about the washing machine industry by researching the home appliance industry, household appliance industry, consumer appliance industry, domestic appliance industry, major appliance industry, hard goods industry, durable goods industry, etc.

ABI/INFORM Collection

Login to ABI/INFORM Collection.

Click on the Browse link in the menu bar at the top of the database's home page.

On the resulting page, click on the link for Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports and/or the link for First Research from the "Industry and Market Research" section at the top of the page..

You can browse Business Monitor International industry reports by industry or topic as well as by country; you can browse First Research industry reports by industry.

Reports include information about the major companies in the selected industry.

Note that your search results will be sorted alphabetically by title by default, so you might want to re-sort them so that the most recent results are listed first.

* * * * *

You can also use the search box on the database's home page to search for your industry by name or NAICS code. You can then scroll down the page to select Industry Report from the "Document type:" menu. Industry reports retrieved by your search may include a list and/or discussion of major companies in the industry.

Business Insights: Global

Login to Business Insights: Global.

Hover your mouse over the Industries link in the menu bar toward the top of the database's home page to see available sub-menu options:

  • All Industries provides access to an industry overview page that lists the top companies as well as the top countries for the industry.
  • Market Share Reports provides access to lists of companies and their market share for various industry-related topics.
  • Industry Essays include a section that discusses industry leaders.
  • Plunkett Reports contain profiles and ranks for top companies in the industry. Companies are benchmarked to each other and to industry averages as well.

Use the search box on the left-hand side of the page to enter an industry's name or its six-digit NAICS code.

Business Source Complete

Login to Business Source Complete.

Enter an industry's name into a search box. Alternately, you can enter the industry's NAICS code into a search box and then use the drop-down menu next to the search box to change the selection from the default entry of "Select a Field (optional)" to "IC NAICS Code or Description."

Next, scroll down the page to the Search Options section. In the "Document Type" area, select Industry Overview.

Note that your search results will be sorted by relevance by default, so you might want to click on the "Relevance" link above your search results to change the sort order to "Date Newest" instead, so that you'll find the most recent overviews of your industry.

Industry overview reports contain a section that discusses major companies in the industry.

Hoovers

Login to Hoovers.

Use the search box at the top of the database's home page to enter an industry's name or NAICS code and use the drop-down menu next to the search box to select Industries.

Click on the link for a relevant industry from your search results page.

The industry overview page includes a Top Industry Participants section. It also contains a Geographic Segmentation section that lists top countries in the industry, with a link for each country that provides a list of companies in that country for the industry.

IBISWorld

Login to IBISWorld.

Enter an industry's name in the search box.

The "Major Companies" section of an industry report contains information about major companies in the industry (including their market share) and other notable companies in the industry.

The "Competitive Landscape" section of reports contains the following subsections:

  • Market Share Concentration: discusses how concentrated the industry is and whether the industry is dominated by one or more companies
  • Key Success Factors: discusses the main things that a company must do in order to maintain or increase its revenue and profit
  • Cost Structure Benchmarks: shows trends in the profit and costs incurred by companies in the industry and the effect on industry performance and company profit
  • Basis of Competition: discusses current and anticipated factors that are giving or could give companies a competitive advantage in the industry
  • Barriers to Entry: discusses the current and anticipated level of difficulty for a new company to enter the industry and factors that a new entrant should consider when entering the industry
  • Industry Globalization: discusses the current and anticipated extent to which the industry operates on a global scale

Mergent Online

Login to Mergent Online.

Click on the Industry analysis tab toward the top of the database's home page.

Click on the Membership link on the resulting page and then choose an industry from the list provided in order to see the leading companies in the industry.

Alternately, you can click on the Reports link and then on the Industry link and select an industry from the list provided in order to see a report that provides information about the leading companies in the industry.

You can also click on the Reports link and then on the Mergent Reports link and select an industry from the list of the 20 largest global industries in order to see a report that provides information about the leading companies in the industry.