University Archives

We have a new interface for our UMGC Archives Collections!  It's the same platform that is used for OneSearch.  We hope that you will find it more visually appealing and easier to navigate.  

Please contact the Archives if you have any questions or comments.  We have a lot of physical materials that are not yet digitized, so please let us know if you are looking for something and cannot find it in our online collection.  

The mission of the University Archives is to collect, arrange, describe, preserve and make accessible Global Campus records of permanent, historical, and administrative value and to disseminate information about the holdings of the Archives through research, campus publications, exhibits, and online resources. The ultimate goal of the Archives is to create a permanent, living record of the historical heritage of the University's unique role in the development and evolution of continuing and adult education.

Note about the University's name change
The name UMUC/University College will be used in historical context when identifying and describing archival materials on the Archives website, repository, and blog.  Any items created after July 1, 2019 will reflect the new name: University of Maryland Global Campus. See the Archives Guidelines on UMUC/University College Name for details.

UMGC Archives: Preserving a Unique, Worldwide History
Read about our projects and collections.

UMGC Archives Online Collections (All)
Our collections landing page

Most popular

• Course Catalogs
  A historical collection of CSCS/UMUC/UMGC course catalogs from Asia, Europe, and Stateside (1954-present).
• Doctoral Dissertations
  For a full list, click Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest), search for "University of Maryland Global Campus" OR University of Maryland University College" and select University/institution - SCH from the drop-down menu.

Individual collections

• Arts Exhibition Archives
  Exhibition catalogs from art exhibits held at UMGC. 
• Books, Magazines, and Newsletters
  Books, magazines, and newsletters by and about UMGC.
• Course Catalogs
  A historical collection of CSCS/UMUC/UMGC course catalogs from Asia, Europe, and Stateside (1954-present).
• DE Oracle: An Online Learning Magazine for UMUC Faculty
  Selected articles from the DE Oracle, which was published from 2001 through 2012.
• Doctoral Dissertations
  For a full list, click Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest), search for "University of Maryland Global Campus" OR University of Maryland University College" and select University/institution - SCH from the drop-down menu.
• Hans Dufke 
  Tenth anniversary ceremony speech and photos for Hans Dufke, who served as European Division Mailroom Supervisor.
• Maryland Commission on Cybersecurity Innovation and Excellence Collection
  The complete papers including agendas, reports, and resources.
• The Marylander
  The Marylander, a university newspaper focusing on overseas studies (1954-1977).
• Mason G. Daly, Selected Speeches
  Selected speeches (1958-1967) from Mason G. Daly, Director of the European Division of University of Maryland University College.
• Munich and Augsburg Newspapers
  Campus newspapers from the Augsburg and Munich campuses (the Augsburg Observer and the Munich Observer).
• Munich Campus Yearbooks
  A collection of  yearbooks from the Munich, Augsburg, and Mannheim Campuses (1954-2002).
• Photos
  Photos from UMGC Asia, Europe and Stateside.
• Schedule of Classes 
  Undergraduate and graduate class schedules.  
• Student Opportunities to Advance Research & Scholarship (S.O.A.R.S.) 
  Poster presentations from doctoral candidates in the final stages of their dissertations, highlighting their research.
• UMGC Fact Fact Books and Fact Sheets
  Statistics on UMGC by fiscal year.  
• UMGC Research and Scholarship Collection
  Research-related materials produced by UMGC students, faculty, staff, and visiting scholars.
• UMGC Shared Governance
  A collection focusing on Shared Governance at UMGC. Including minutes, bylaws, constitutions, etc. from various councils included under the University Advisory Council (UAC).  [I took this from Alma but shortened it a bit.]
• UMGC Videos
  Videos by and about the University of Maryland Global Campus.

The Archives includes photos, memorabilia, yearbooks, course catalogs, and departmental files. Please note that the Archives does NOT house financial, student, or faculty records.

For more information or to schedule an appointment to use the materials please contact the Archives. See the University Archives Policy for use policies.  

To find other locations that may have useful research materials feel free to search ArchiveGrid.

Volunteers:  Given the confidential nature of many of the archival holdings, visitors to the Archives are quite welcome by prior arrangement, but at present there is neither physical space nor staff coverage to accommodate volunteer participation.

• Digital Repository
• Physical Collection

Archives Policy
Collection development and use policies

Request and Intake Process
Collecting materials from university departments