UMGC Library

University Archives Policy

Mission

The mission of the University Archives is to collect, arrange, describe, preserve and make accessible Global Campus records of permanent, historical, and administrative value and to disseminate information about the holdings of the Archives through research, campus publications, exhibits, and online resources. The ultimate goal of the Archives is to create a permanent, living record of the historical heritage of the University's unique role in the development and evolution of continuing and adult education.

Definition of Records

All documents created or used in the course of Global Campus business are institutional records, and as such are the property of Global Campus .

NOTE: The Archives will NOT house financial, student, or faculty records. Disposition and relocation of these records will be determined by the records retention schedules established by the University of Maryland System in conjunction with the Global Campus records manager .

Use Policies

  • The University Archives will serve all patrons with a legitimate use of the materials, including students, faculty, staff, administrators, alumni, and off-campus researchers.
  • Arrangements will be made to view archival materials.
  • Food and drink are not permitted in the Archives.
  • Pencils only can be used to take notes. Ink is not permitted.
  • Archives materials do not circulate, except through special permission via the University Archivist or ILS Associate Provost. All materials are used within the Archives facility.
  • After submitting a request, routine requests for basic factual information contained in such publications as catalogs, Commencement programs, and other university publications will be filled within 48-72 hours of request.
  • In-depth requests by non-UMGC patrons for information contained in non-published materials or copies of photographs, will require a detailed outline of purpose and special permission from the President of the University to use the materials. Those materials that are considered sensitive will not be available to anyone without special permission from the President. Any access restrictions on collection materials as instructed by the donor will be respected. Photocopies of materials can be made on a selective basis, upon approval by the University Archivist or ILS Associate Provost, by ILS staff and such requests will be filled within one week of approved request.
  • Copyright permission must be taken into account when publishing research conducted in the University Archives.

Collection Development Guidelines

Statement of Purpose

The collection development guidelines state the principles and guidelines that the UMGC Archives follow in the selection, acquisition and preservation of archival materials. 

General Collection Development Guidelines

The UMGC Archives Mission states that the Archives collects “Global Campus records of permanent, historical, and administrative value” -- to further clarify this includes, but is not limited to:

  • Old name/logo items (lanyards, letterhead, seals, swag, posters/flyers, etc.)
  • Yearbooks
  • Memorabilia
  • Course Catalogs
  • Schedule of Courses
  • Organization Charts
  • Major Initiative Information (for example: HelioCampus, ELM, School Reorganization)
  • Meeting Minutes (for example: ASAC, Board of Visitors Meetings)
  • Annual Reports
  • Fact Sheets
  • Photos
  • Slides
  • Commencement Booklets
  • Video (film, tapes, DVDs, digital, etc.)
  • Audio (tapes, reels, CDs, digital, etc.)
  • Newsletters (faculty, student, alumni, other)
  • UMGC Journals/Magazines/Newspapers
  • News clippings
  • Marketing Materials
  • UMGC Regalia
  • Anniversary Celebration Materials
  • Events (booklets, invitations, RSVP, etc.)
  • Arts (booklets, invitations, RSVP, etc.)
  • UMGC Research and Scholarship (including S.O.A.R.S.)
  • Dissertations
  • Correspondence
  • Speeches
  • Presidential Files (including Awards, Strategic Plans, etc.)
  • UMUC Conferences
  • Alumni Information
  • Grants
  • Architectural/Building Information
  • Security Reports
  • Program Development 
  • Middle States
  • Surveys/Needs Assessments

Preservation

The University of Maryland Global Campus Archives is committed to ensuring the preservation and long-lasting availability of its research collections and resources in all formats.  Preservation is accomplished through a variety of collection- and item-level approaches and strategies.  Actions are taken to prevent or slow down the deterioration of archival materials, improve their condition, or provide access through reformatting to preserve intellectual content and to protect fragile originals. Proper storage environment and housing, careful handling, and treatment of individual items (conservation) are methods used to protect and improve conditions to extend the useful life of materials in original form.  Digitization of materials at risk can prevent further damage from use and ensure that unique content in obsolete formats is not lost.  

Deselection of Items From Archival Collections

Maintaining the quality and usefulness of the collections is a central goal and responsibility of the Archives.  Associated with that responsibility is decision-making regarding which materials are accurate, and relevant, and which should be deselected. If so desired, such materials as specified will be returned to the Donor.

Donations

Donations to the collection of the UMGC Archives constitute an important and ongoing source of materials that support the teaching programs and history of the University. The donation of the kinds of resources described above, and in many formats, have served as the foundation of some of our collections. In other instances, these donations have significantly enhanced already established collections.

We provide the following general guidelines for individuals interested in donating materials to the UMGC Archives. We reserve the right to accept or decline materials based on these and other criteria that serve the best interests of the archives.

Every effort is made to accept only items appropriate to be added to the collections. Items not added may be discarded at the discretion of the University Libraries.

Prospective donors should provide a list of items available in advance. Ongoing space constraints typically do not permit us to keep whole donated collections intact.

Desirable Donations

  • Unique documents, publications, or items relate to UMGC/UMGC
  • Ephemera or Memorabilia
  • Pre-1960 Course Catalogs

Out of Scope and Unacceptable Donations

As a result of the ever-increasing costs associated with the short-term and long-term storage of donations and the associated resources required to sort, review, process, preserve, and maintain materials, the Archives cannot accept all donations. The following represent categories of materials that fall outside the collecting scope of the UMGC Archives:

  • Materials that are not relevant to UMGC
  • Textbooks
  • Popular trade/mass market paperbacks
  • Popular magazines (e.g., Newsweek, National Geographic)
  • Items that show evidence of mold, mildew, or pests
  • Any faculty, student, or personnel records

Display

The University of Maryland Global Campus is authorized to display any donated materials in non-profit exhibitions both on and off campus.  Materials may also be used to illustrate exhibition catalogs and University publications.

By donating, you are affirming that you are the sole owner of these materials and are donating physical and/or digital ownership of them to the University of Maryland Global Campus, which shall occur upon delivery to the University’s authorized representative.  However, the donor, their heirs, and their estate shall retain title to such literary property rights (copyright) as they may possess.

Once a donation is accepted, it becomes the property of the University of Maryland Global Campus.

Ask a Librarian