UMGC Library

Business Research: Company Information

Finding Company Information

Company information can be found using the following databases:

Business Source Complete

You can find information on hundreds of publicly-held companies in the Business Source Complete database.

Once you're in the database click on Company Information in the light blue bar at the top of the database:

Company Information link

You'll then see a search box where you can type in the name of the company. You can also search by parent company, ticker symbol, or conduct a keyword search:

Company search

Once you click search, this page will appear:

Company search results

Clicking on the company name will bring you to this page, where a variety of links will provide you with related company information, financial information, names of company executives, and more:

Company data

Hoovers

The Hoovers database also can be used for information about specific companies.

To search for information on a specific company, first type the company name in the search box at the top of the page:

Search for a specific company

Click the search icon and a list of companies will appear on your screen:

List of companies

Once you click on the name of the company that interests you, a wealth of information pertaining to the company will appear on your screen. The information includes a brief description of the company, a list of key executives, a company history, financial information, SWOT analyses, news, annual reports, SEC filings, and much more:

Information about the company

In addition to searching for particular companies, you can also use Hoovers to build a targeted list of companies using specific criteria, browse news, analyze markets, research industries, and investigate other business areas:

Hoovers desktop

Factiva

Factiva is another database you can use to obtain company information. 

Once you’re in the database, hover your mouse over Companies/Markets in the black banner at the top of the page and then click on Company:

Companies/Markets link

You can then search for company information by name, name or ticker number:

Search for a company

Once you conduct your search you’ll be brought to a list of companies. Simply choose the one you want to research:

List of companies

You’ll be brought to a page that contains a wealth of information, including news, key developments, financial results, and more:

Company information

Mergent Online

You can also use Mergent Online to find company information.

Once you’re in the database simply type the name of the company that interests you in the search box:

Search for a company

Once you conduct the search a link to the company information will appear:

Link to the company information

Click the link and a page will come up that contains company information, including key executives, financials, a business summary, and more. You can use the tabs and links to drill down for more detailed information about various aspects of the company:

Company information