UMGC Library

Business Research: Leadership Information

Finding a Company's Leadership Information

Company Web Sites

The best place to find current information about the executives and other key people who work at a particular company is usually the company's own website. Look for a section entitled "About the company" or "Leadership," etc. Leadership information may also be found in a company's annual report, which you may be able to find in the area of the company's website that contains information for investors.

Library Databases

Some UMGC Library databases also contain information about company leadership, although this information is more likely to be outdated than information on a company's own website. Databases that can be used to find a company's leadership include:

Click on the links above to learn how to find company leadership information in each of the databases listed.

Note, by the way, that leadership information will seldom be given in org chart format. Rather, you may just be presented with a list of the people who hold the top positions at a company, with little or no information given about how the positions relate to each other.

Business Insights: Global

Login to Business Insights: Global. Enter a company's name in the search box on the database's home page, without putting quotation marks around a name consisting of two or more words (for example, home depot). Then click on the company's name on the search results page to open up a page of information about the company. The company's leadership is listed in the Officer(s) section of the page:

Business Insights: Global

Business Source Complete

Login to Business Source Complete. Click on the Company Information link at the top of the page and enter a company's name in the search box, putting quotation marks around a company name consisting of two or more words (for example, "general electric"). After clicking on the company's name on the search results page to open up a page of information about the company, click on the + icon next to Executives to open the list of the company's executives: 

Business Source Complete

Hoovers

Login to Hoovers. Enter a company's name in the "Search for a Company" box at the top of the database's home page, putting quotation marks around a company name consisting of two or more words (for example, "philip morris"). After clicking on the company's name on the search results page, click on the Contacts link on the left-hand side of the company information page, below the "Core" heading:

Hoovers

Mergent Online

Login to Mergent Online. Enter a company's name in the Company Search box on the database's home page, putting quotation marks around a company name consisting of two or more words (for example, "harris teeter"). After clicking on the company's name on the search results page, click on the Executives tab on the company information page: 

Mergent Online

Nexis Uni

Login to Nexis Uni. Click on the Business link in the “Discover topics” section of the database’s home page and then on the Company Dossier link on the resulting page. Enter a company's name in the Company name search box on the resulting page, putting quotation marks around a company name consisting of two or more words (for example, "office depot"). After clicking on the company's name on the search results page, click on the desired link (Executive Contacts, NetProspex, or Professional Contacts) under the “Full Executive Lists” heading on the left-hand side of the company's information page:

Nexis Uni