UMGC Library

Business Research: Financial Information

Finding a Company's Financial Information

Many UMGC Library databases can be used to find a company's financial information, such as its balance sheets, cash flow, and ratios. (For instructions on finding financial ratios, see Finding Financial Ratios for Companies.)

Databases that can be used to find companies' financial information include:

Company financial information can also be found on the free web.

Information to help you understand a company's financial data can be found in print books in the Library's catalog (catalogUSMAI) and in e-books from UMGC Library e-book collections.

Click on the links above to learn how to find company financial information in each of the sources listed.

Business Insights: Global

Login to Business Insights: Global. Click on any of the financial reports links on the database's home page or select Financial Reports from the drop-down menu available from the Companies link. Then use the search box provided on the Financial Reports page to search for a company's name, without putting quotation marks around a name consisting of two or more words (for example, home depot). Then click on the tabs to find the company's income statement, balance sheet, cash flow, ratios, etc. (available from the Fundamentals Analysis tab) or its stock quotes, etc. (available from the Financials Dashboard tab):

Business Insights: Global

Business Source Complete

Login to Business Source Complete. Click on the Company Information link at the top of the page and enter a company's name in the search box, putting quotation marks around a company name consisting of two or more words (for example, "general electric"). After clicking on the company's name on the search results page to open up a page of information about the company, click on the + icon next to Financials to open the company's (brief) financial information:

Business Source Complete

Hoovers

Login to Hoovers. Enter a company's name in the "Search for a Company" box at the top of the database's home page, putting quotation marks around a company name consisting of two or more words (for example, "philip morris"). After clicking on the company's name on the search results page, click on the topic of interest below the "Financials" heading on the left-hand side of the page to find annual ratios, ratio comparisons, income statements, balance sheets, cash flow, etc.:

Hoovers

Mergent Online

Login to Mergent Online. Enter a company's name in the Company Search box on the database's home page, putting quotation marks around a company name consisting of two or more words (for example, "harris teeter"). After clicking on the company's name on the search results page, click on the Company Financials tab on the company information page:

Mergent Online

For help using Mergent Online, click on the Help link in the upper right-hand corner of the database.

Nexis Uni

Login to Nexis Uni. Click on the Menu link on the database's home page and then on the Company Dossier link from the resulting sub-menu. Enter a company's name in the Company name search box on the resulting page, putting quotation marks around a company name consisting of two or more words (for example, "office depot"). After clicking on the company's name on the search results page, click on the desired link (Financial Overview or SEC Filings; note that SEC Filings contains a sub-menu of options, including Recent SEC Filings, Latest 10-K Filings, Latest 8-K Filings, etc.) from the menu on the left-hand side of the company's information page:

Nexis Uni

Finding Company Financial Information on the Free Web

There are several free websites that can be used to find a company's financial information. Below is a listing of some of these sites.

Depending on what type of financial information you're looking for, you may be able to find it on a company's own site. Look for the area of the company's site that contains information for investors.

EDGAR

You may also find financial information by searching EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Search EDGAR (See search tips.)

Using E-Books to Understand Company Financial Data

There are numerous e-books in the UMGC Library's e-book databases that can help you interpret company financial data. You can find these books by using the search box on the E-Books tab on the Library's home page to run searches such as:

"business ratio*" OR "financial ratio*"
"corporate finance"
"financial statement*"