UMGC Library

Business Research: Trends and Projections

Finding Industry Trends and Projections

Industry trends and projections can be found in the following databases:

When searching for industry trends and projections, keep in mind that different databases may refer to industries differently, so you may need to try several different names when searching for information about a given industry. For instance, you may be able to find information about trends/projections/forecasts for the washing machine industry by researching the home appliance industry, household appliance industry, consumer appliance industry, domestic appliance industry, major appliance industry, hard goods industry, durable goods industry, etc.

ABI/INFORM Collection

Login to ABI/INFORM Collection.

Click on the Browse link in the menu bar at the top of the database's home page.

On the resulting page, click on the link for Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports and/or the link for First Research from the "Industry and Market Research" section at the top of the page.

Business Monitor International industry reports contain trend analysis and forecasts.

First Research industry reports contain an industry growth rating, industry forecast, industry drivers, critical issues facing the industry, business challenges, business trends, industry opportunities, etc.

Note that your search results will be sorted alphabetically by title by default, so you might want to re-sort them so that the most recent results are listed first.

* * * * *

You can also use the search box on the database's home page to search for:

[industry name] AND (trend* OR projection* OR forecast*)

Business Insights: Global

Login to Business Insights: Global.

Hover your mouse over the Industries link in the menu bar toward the top of the database's home page and then select Industry Essays from the resulting drop-down menu.

Use the search box on the left-hand side of the page to search for an industry by name.

Industry essays include a "Current Conditions" section that discusses current as well as predicted industry conditions.

Business Source Complete

Login to Business Source Complete.

Enter an industry's name into a search box. Alternately, you can enter the industry's NAICS code into a search box and then use the drop-down menu next to the search box to change the selection from the default entry of "Select a Field (optional)" to "IC NAICS Code or Description."

Next, scroll down the page to the Search Options section. In the "Publication Type" area, select Industry Profile.

Note that you can use the publication date slider on the left-hand side of the search results page to limit your results to documents published within whatever time period you specify, which should help you find recent documents that discuss trends/projections/forecasts for your industry.

* * * * *

You can also use the search box on the database's home page to search for:

[industry name] AND (trend* OR projection* OR forecast*)

Hoovers

Login to Hoovers.

Use the search box at the top of the database's home page to enter an industry's name or NAICS code and use the drop-down menu next to the search box to select Industries.

Click on the link for a relevant industry from your search results page.

Many industry reports available from the Market Research menu on the left-hand side of an industry's information page contain trends/projections/forecasts for the industry, as well as other industry information.

IBISWorld

Login to IBISWorld.

Enter an industry's name in the search box.

The "Industry Outlook" and "Competitive Landscape" sections of industry reports contain industry trends/projections/forecasts.

Mergent Online

Login to Mergent Online.

Click on the Industry analysis tab toward the top of the database's home page.

Next, click on the Reports link on the resulting page and then on the link for Mergent Reports.

You'll then see a list of the industries for which industry analysis reports (which contain market trends and outlook) are available. Reports are available for the largest global industries.

Nexis Uni

Login to Nexis Uni.

In the search box next to "All Nexis Uni," begin typing Marketline and then select Marketline - Industry Report when this is offered by autocomplete as a source. You can then enter the name of your industry in the search box.

Be sure to see the links in the "Other Available Reports" section on the right-hand side of an industry report page, as the Competitive Landscape, Forecast Value, and/or Forecast Volume reports may be particularly useful.