Business Research

Market size is the number of actual and potential buyers and sellers of a particular product or service in a particular market.

Many UMGC Library databases can be used to find market size information, including:

• ABI/INFORM Collection
• Business Source Ultimate
• Gale Business: Insights
• Statista

Information about market size can be found in print books in the Library's catalog (USMAI Book Search) and in ebooks from UMGC Library ebook collections.

Click on the links above to learn how to find market size information in each of the sources listed.

Login to ABI/INFORM Collection.

Enter "market size" AND along with the name of a product or service, putting quotation marks around a name consisting of two or more words -- for example, "market size" AND "ice cream". 

Login to Business Source Ultimate.

Enter "market size" AND along with the name of a product or service, putting quotation marks around a name consisting of two or more words -- for example, "market size" AND "pet food".

Login to Gale Business: Insights.

In the search box toward the top left-hand side of the database's home page, enter "market size" AND along with the name of a product or service, putting quotation marks around a name consisting of two or more words -- for example, "market size" AND "frozen pizza".

Login to Statista.

Enter "market size" and the name of a product or service, putting quotation marks around a name consisting of two or more words -- for example, "market size" "ice cream". 

You may also find useful results by searching for market and the name of a product/service -- for example, market "ice cream".

There are few print books available from USMAI Book Search, the UMGC Library catalog, that focus solely on market size. Books that discuss market research in general, however, will contain useful information about determining market size. Such books include:

• The entrepreneur's guide to market research
• International business research: Strategies and resources
• An introduction to market and social research: Planning and using research tools and techniques
• Market research handbook
• The market research toolbox: A concise guide for beginners

To find ebooks that discuss market size, use the Library's ebook databases to search for:

"market size"

Some ebook materials of possible interest include:

• "Anticipating the size of your market," from Gale e-commerce sourcebook
• "Market research," from Encyclopedia of small business (see in particular the "Market size and structure" section)
• "Market prioritization methods for global firms," from Managerial issues in finance and banking (see in particular section 1.4, "Market size determination methods")