A company’s annual report summarizes the company’s financial performance during the previous year and provides information about plans for the company’s future direction. Public companies in the U.S. must provide annual reports to the company’s shareholders at the end of each fiscal year.
10-K reports are reports that public companies in the U.S. must file with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) within 60 days after the end of the company’s fiscal year. 10-Ks typically include more detailed information than annual reports, although some companies use the 10-K as their annual report.
You can find annual reports and/or 10-K reports in the following databases:
Annual reports and 10-Ks can also be found on the free web.
Information to help you understand a company's annual report or 10-K report can be found in print books in the Library's catalog (USMAI Book Search) and in ebooks from UMGC Library ebook collections.
Click on the links above to learn how to find company annual or 10-K reports in each of the sources listed.
Login to ABI/INFORM Collection.
First, click on the icon of three horizontal lines toward the top left-hand side of the page.
Next, click on the Browse link from the resulting sub-menu.
On the resulting page, click on the ProQuest Annual Reports Collection link from the “Company Reports” section.
You can then browse the list of companies or use the search box to search for a particular company's annual report.
You can also enter a company's name in the search box on the database's home page and then scroll down the page and check the box next to "Annual Report" in the "Document type:" section.
Login to Gale Business: Insights.
Click on the Browse All Companies button, enter a company's name in the search box, and then click on the company's name on the search results page.
On the company profile page, click on the All Reports link next to the "Investment Reports" heading in the “Financial performance” section.
On the reports page, click on the SEC Filings link toward the top of the page to see available SEC filings, including 10-Ks. Note that you can sort reports by type in order to more quickly find 10-Ks.
Login to Hoovers.
Enter a company’s name in the “Search for a Company” box at the top of the database’s home page.
In the “Advanced” section on the left-hand side of the company information page, you may see links for Annual Reports and for SEC Filings.
Login to Nexis Uni.
Click on the Find a Company link on the database's home page, below the search box.
On the Find a Company page, enter a company’s name in the “Company name” search box and click on its name on the results page.
Click on the SEC Filings link on the left-hand side of the company dossier page and then on the link for Latest 10-K Filings (Form 10-K) to see links to available 10-Ks.
Login to Statista.
Enter a company's name followed by "annual report" in the search box on the database's home page, putting quotation marks around a company name consisting of two or more words (for example, "southwest airlines" "annual report").
You’ll then see available annual reports and/or 10-Ks. Note that you may want to filter your results to include just reports and then sort your results by date of publication in order to more quickly find available reports.
Note that 10-Ks are publicly available on the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)’s Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (EDGAR) website. For more information, see the SEC's instructions for searching EDGAR and their guide to reading a 10-K.
Note, too, that many companies post their annual reports and/or 10-Ks on their website, often in an area of the site designated for investors/shareholders.
You may also be able to find a company’s annual report by using a search engine such as Google or Bing and searching for the company’s name followed by "annual report" -- for example:
starbucks "annual report"
You will probably not find a particular company's annual reports in a print book, but there are numerous print books available in USMAI Book Search, the UMGC Library catalog, that describe how to write and/or interpret an annual report. These include:
The UMGC Library's ebooks are also unlikely to contain particular companies' annual reports, but you can find information about annual reports by using the Library's ebook databases to search for:
"annual report*"