UMGC Library

APA 6th Edition Citation Examples: Encyclopedia Articles

Library database with DOI

Miura, A. (2012). Human behavior with blogs. In Z. Yan (Ed.), Encyclopedia of cyber behavior (pp. 157-163). https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-4666-0315-8

What is a DOI?
Some library databases, such as Academic Search Ultimate and APA PsycInfo, list a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) for individual e-books. A DOI is a unique identifying number for an e-book. In the database record for an e-book, you will see an element that looks like this, which you should include at the end of your APA reference, preceded by "https://doi.org/":

Digital Object Identifier

This link will allow a reader to link to doi.org for more information about the e-book.

Library database without DOI

Smith, A. J. (2001). Child development. In B. Strickland (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of psychology. Retrieved from http://www.gale.cengage.com/

No DOI? Find the publisher's homepage.
Do a Web search (using a search engine such as Google or Yahoo!) to find the address of the homepage of the journal that published the article and include it in your citation. Please be aware, however, that the full text of encyclopedia may not actually be available at the publisher's homepage.

Cannot find the publisher's homepage?
In this case, do a Web search (using a search engine such as Google or Yahoo!) for the name of the database you are using (for example, "JSTOR" or "Business Source Complete") and use the address of its homepage.

More info

See Publication Manual, p. 205; Style Guide, p. 18.