UMGC Library

APA 7th Edition Citation Examples: Encyclopedia Articles

Format for encyclopedia articles

Format:

Author last name, first initial. (Year). Article title. In Editor first initial. Last name (Ed.), Encyclopedia title, (pp. page numbers). Publisher Name. DOI  

Elements:

  • Author: List the last name, followed by the first initial (and second initial). See Authors for more information.
  • Year: List the publication year between parentheses, followed by a period.
  • Article title: Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle, and proper nouns, followed by a period.
  • Editor: List the first initial followed by the last name. Preceded by "In" and followed by "(Ed.)" 
  • Encyclopedia title: In italics. Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle, and proper nouns
  • Page number(s): List page numbers preceded with "pp." in parentheses and followed by a period.
  • Publisher name: List publisher name, followed by a period.
  • DOI: Use DOI when available.

See specific examples below.

Library database with DOI

Miura, A. (2012). Human behavior with blogs. In Z. Yan (Ed.), Encyclopedia of cyber behavior (pp. 157-163). IGI Global. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-4666-0315-8

What is a DOI?
Some library databases, such as Academic Search Ultimate and APA PsycInfo, provide a digital object identifier (DOI) for individual e-books. A DOI is a unique identifier for an online work. In the database record for an e-book, you will see an element that looks like this, which you should include at the end of your APA reference, preceded by "https://doi.org/":

Digital Object Identifier

This link will allow a reader to link to doi.org for more information about the e-book.

Library database without DOI

Smith, A. J. (2001). Child development. In B. Strickland (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of psychology (pp. 115-116). Gale.

More info

See Publication Manual, 10.3.