eReserve materials are required course readings made available to students through the UMGC online classroom. These materials include journal articles, book chapters, lecture notes, images and links to web-based resources, including Internet sites and online databases. They are available to be viewed, downloaded and printed under the "eReserves" heading in the online classroom. Only students enrolled in the course and the teaching faculty will be able to access eReserve readings.
eReserve requests can be submitted at any time for current or future semesters. It is preferable for directors to submit requests in advance of the class and for faculty to place requests as early as possible, after they get access to the class. Depending on the requested materials, the average time to complete the process is 1-2 business days for articles if the requested materials are available via our library databases or the open web. It can take up to two weeks for book chapters if the requested materials need to be ordered via DocumentExpress.
1) Prepare a list of required readings with complete citations (preferably in APA format).
To expedite the process of your requests, please provide complete and correct information in full and indicate the following:
The eReserves Team will then:
3) The eReserves Team will notify you via e-mail that your requests have been made available. Please immediately check the readings in the eReserves area of your online classroom to ensure that the readings are present and match what you requested.
4) If your class is canceled, please contact the eReserves Team right away so that copyright requests can be canceled.
If you have any questions about the process of your eReserves requests, please contact the eReserves Team.
Faculty can place various types of materials in eReserves, including journal articles, book chapters, lecture notes, and other course-specific materials if they are required reading for students in the course. They will be displayed as PDF files or direct links through Library Databases.
A growing number of journal articles are available in the Library Databases. If you request one of these articles, we will provide a link to access the article in full text. If you are aware that an item is available full text in a Library Database, please include this information when you submit a request in the eReserves System. Entire books, items for which royalty payments are deemed to be cost prohibitive, and materials for which permission have been denied by the copyright holder will not be made available. Visit Ask a Librarian for assistance locating similar materials from alternate publications.
Due to copyright, cost, and accessibility (ADA) concerns, we cannot provide audio and video resources via eReserves. Faculty should discuss with Program Directors, and Program Directors should contact Course Development regarding the request.
In most cases, no. Ebooks from the various Library ebook collections are intended by the vendors and publishers for individual research use and are not designed to be used as a substitute for textbooks. Most of these ebooks have concurrent user limits that may cause students to be turned away if they are assigned as readings and the whole class is trying to access it at the same time. Due to these restrictions, entire ebooks from the various collections cannot be used as textbooks or as textbook substitutes. Specific chapters and pages can be requested as you normally would for any book request (in the eReserves System). However, there are exceptions, and ebook requests will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.
You may link to case studies if they are in EBSCO.
There are two kinds of cases:
1) Harvard Business Review Case Studies, which are in EBSCO, like this one:
2) Harvard Business School Case Studies, which we can only provide individually if requested through Document Express, and cannot be assigned in courses (i.e. each student cannot be instructed to request it individually). If the school or program wanted to assign one of these they would need to license it themselves from HBSP for use as course materials. Here is an example:
Please note that there is a $500 cap on copyright fees per reading. The cap applies at the class level and not at the individual section level. It is very rare that requests will be this expensive. You will be notified if this cap is reached and the library can assist you in finding a more cost effective alternative. However as the instructor or director and subject expert, it is up to you to choose which resources are best for your courses and particular instructional needs.
If the library does not own or is unable to locate the requested materials in the University System of Maryland, we will request the materials through DocumentExpress. Please note that it takes time to receive and process DocumentExpress materials.
When possible, the UMGC Library will obtain copyright clearance for items that are protected by copyright. If copyright clearance cannot be obtained, and the item is being used for the first time, the item may only be used for one semester and not in subsequent semesters.
If we point to the materials in the Library Databases, copyright clearance is not required. The UMGC Library will provide a direct link to the materials.
Please note that eReserves have been made available solely for use in the class and the materials may not be further distributed to any person outside the class, whether by copying or by transmission in electronic or paper form.
Cannot log in?
Make sure that you log in with the same credentials that you use to log into MyUMGC. (See Login Help.)
You will be able to log in to the eReserves System after you get staffed to teach a class.
Classes not appearing?
Classes will not appear in the eReserves System until they have been staffed in PeopleSoft.