UMGC Library: Library Services for Faculty: Ebook Collections

Ebook Purchase Requests

In special cases, the Library may be able to purchase ebooks through our vendors. These requests should come through the Integrative Learning Design (ILD) department. For additional questions please contact your ILD parnter or library liaison. Ebook purchases are considered on a case-by-case basis, using the following criteria:

How crucial is the proposed ebook to meeting the course outcomes and objectives?
Is this a core class, or a high enrollment class for the department?
Is there something the Library already owns or an OER that meets the need?
Is the cost prohibitive?

Does the ebook add value to the collection overall?

Ebook Collections

The Library may own books and other resources that you can use in your classroom. Librarians are available to help you search for ebooks, articles, videos, and other resources, including Open Educational Resources. For more information, contact your library liaison.

Ebook collections that you can search for course materials

EBSCO eBooks
UMGC Library's main collection of ebooks on a wide range of subjects. (Faculty: The ones indicating "Unlimited User Access" can be used for assigned course readings.)
See our help page for information on viewing and downloading ebooks.
Books24x7
Ebooks on finance, business, IT, and technical topics, including Microsoft Office.
Personalized Features in Books24X7
All users have their own accounts when they sign into Books24X7, as anonymous users. All users are anonymous to protect their privacy. This is your own account and you can save your personalized features, which will be available to you each time you sign in.

The personalized features in Books24X7 are folders, notes, and bookmarks. These features are available to all students, faculty, and staff at UMUC. You will see these features when you view a title (notes or folders options) or chapter (notes, folders, and bookmarks). You can test out and view a title and then set up some of the features described above. If you click on the My Home tab, you will see also any folders set up on the left under the heading, Personal Folders, and the features are shown in each folder or in each of the folders.

Access to Books24X7
Access is restricted to current UMUC students, faculty, and staff per the terms and conditions from Skillsoft, the vendor for Books24X7, as amended by UMUC: http://documentation.skillsoft.com/en_us/privacy/skillport_Terms_of_Use.htm.
O'Reilly
Ebooks and videos on technology and business topics. (NOTE: Having issues with your login?)

Some additional collections offering background and reference materials

Gale eBooks
Encyclopedias and other background reading in a variety of subject areas.
Oxford Reference
Subject, language, and quotations dictionaries, as well as in-depth subject encyclopedias and other reference books.
SAGE Knowledge: SAGE Reference eBook Collection
Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks covering the social sciences.