UMGC Library

Linking to Ebooks and Journal Articles

Long-term availability of resources
While it is rare, the vendors may discontinue ebook and journal titles at any time and without warning.  Program Directors and faculty making use of these materials should keep this in mind, especially if the materials are to be used as core texts, and consider having a backup plan for courses in progress if this should happen.


Note to Faculty: Ebook Collections which Can Be Used for Required Readings

When selecting E-Resources to assign as readings for your class, please note which ebook collections can be used and which cannot, due to limitations on the number of students that can simultaneously access them, or due to download limitations.

Ebooks which CAN be used 
Ebook collections that have unlimited use, are downloadable, and can be used are:

  • Ebook Central 1
  • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) - ONLY if the Concurrent User Level says "Unlimited User Access." (See details.)
  • EBSCO databases - conference proceedings, book chapters, etc.
  • Gale eBooks (chapters or sections only)
  • O'Reilly (formerly Safari)
  • Oxford Scholarship Online Ebooks
  • SAGE (chapters or sections only)

Ebooks which CANNOT be used
These ebook collections cannot be used because there are limitations on the number of simultaneous users, or there are download limitations:

  • Books24x7
  • Ebook Central 2
  • Oxford Reference Online

General Rule for Making Links

For a number of resources, simply cutting and pasting the link from the browser's address bar will not work.
You need to look and see if the resource indicates a specific link to use. It may be called a persistent URL, a stable URL, a permalink, a document URL, "link to this page," or something similar. See instructions for specific resources below.

Note about Find It and Get Full Text from [database name] links: make sure you link to the database that actually contains the full text.
If you must click on a Find It button or a Get Full Text from [database name] link in OneSearch in order to see the full text of an item in some other database, don’t provide the OneSearch link for the item in your classroom; instead, provide the permanent link to the item from the database that contains its full text, using the instructions below. 

Links that go outside of OneSearch

Books 24x7

Click the Share icon in the Tools section at the top.

Books 24x7

FACULTY:  Do not use Books24x7 for required readings, as the ebooks cannot be downloaded.

Ebook Central

Click "Share Link to Book" on the left. Make sure the ebook indicates "unlimited access."

Ebook Central

Note: "Ebook Central 2: Various Collections" CANNOT be used, as they have simultaneous user limits.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Click on "Permalink" in the Tools sidebar on the right.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

UMGC Faculty: Make sure the ebook says Unlimited User Access if it is to be used as a required reading.

 Please use ebooks in this database as assigned textbooks ONLY if the Concurrent User Level says "Unlimited User Access." (Books that say "Limited User Access" can be taken into consideration, but unlimited access must be purchased in advance of use in any course, and funding is limited. Please check with the Library to see if unlimited access purchase is an option for a title, and then with LDS to obtain approval.)

Unlimited User Access

EBSCO

EBSCO databases will have "ebscohost" in the browser URL.

Click on "Permalink" in the Tools sidebar on the right.

Ebsco

Gale

Click on "Get Link". 

Gale

JSTOR

Look for the Remote Access URL on the left sidebar.

JSTOR

Nexis Uni

Click the Actions drop down menu and select Link to this page.  

Nexis Uni

OneSearch

Click on "Permalink" in the Tools sidebar on the right.

Ebsco

O'Reilly (new procedure)

Copy the browser URL and add the following prefix:
https://go.oreilly.com/umgc/

For example:
https://go.oreilly.com/umgc/https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/machine-learning-with/9781800560307/

Oxford

Copy the URL from the browser address bar.

ProQuest

Click on the Abstract/Details tab (or it may just say Details), then scroll down and look for the Document URL.

Proquest

Sage Knowledge

Copy the URL from the browser address bar.

Science Direct

Copy the URL from the browser address bar.

How to create a link using a DOI

A digital object identifier (DOI) is a permanent digital identifier given to an electronic document. In the database record for an article, you may see an element that looks like this:

Digital Object Identifier

In this case, you may get a permanent link by adding the following prefix to the DOI:
http://ezproxy.umgc.edu/login?url=http://doi.org/

Example: http://ezproxy.umgc.edu/login?url=http://doi.org/10.1037/0882-7974.21.2.401

Ask a Librarian