Linking to Ebooks and Journal Articles

When selecting E-Resources to assign as readings for your class, please note which ebook collections can be used and which cannot, due to limitations on the number of students that can simultaneously access them, or due to download limitations.

Ebooks which CAN be used 
Ebook collections that have unlimited use, are downloadable, and can be used are:

• Books24x7
• Ebook Central 1
• eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) - ONLY if the Concurrent User Level says "Unlimited User Access." (See details.)
• EBSCO databases - conference proceedings, book chapters, etc.
• Gale eBooks
• O'Reilly
• Oxford Reference Online (as long as the article does not have a red lock box indicating that it has restricted access)
• Oxford Scholarship Online Ebooks
• SAGE

Ebooks which CANNOT be used
These ebook collections cannot be used because there are limitations on the number of simultaneous users.

• Ebook Central 2

For a number of resources, simply cutting and pasting the link from the browser's address bar will not work.
You need to look and see if the resource indicates a specific link to use. It may be called a persistent URL, a stable URL, a permalink, a document URL, "link to this page," or something similar. See instructions for specific resources below.

Note about Find It and Get Full Text from [database name] links: make sure you link to the database that actually contains the full text.
If you must click on a Find It button or a Get Full Text from [database name] link in OneSearch in order to see the full text of an item in some other database, don’t provide the OneSearch link for the item in your classroom; instead, provide the permanent link to the item from the database that contains its full text, using the instructions below. 

Click the Share a Link icon (it looks like an envelope) in the Tools section at the top.

Click "Share Link to Book" on the left. Make sure the ebook indicates "unlimited access."

Note: "Ebook Central 2: Various Collections" CANNOT be used, as they have simultaneous user limits.

Click on "Permalink" in the Tools sidebar on the right.

UMGC Faculty: Make sure the ebook says Unlimited User Access if it is to be used as a required reading.

 Please use ebooks in this database as assigned textbooks ONLY if the Concurrent User Level says "Unlimited User Access." (Books that say "Limited User Access" can be taken into consideration, but unlimited access must be purchased in advance of use in any course, and funding is limited. Please check with the Library to see if unlimited access purchase is an option for a title, and then with LDS to obtain approval.)

EBSCO databases will have "ebscohost" in the browser URL.

Click on "Permalink" in the Tools sidebar on the right.

Click on "Get Link". 

Copy the URL from the browser address bar.

Click the link icon next to the title of the article at the top of the page.  

Click on "Permalink" in the Tools sidebar on the right.

Copy the browser URL and add the following prefix:
https://go.oreilly.com/umgc/

For example:
https://go.oreilly.com/umgc/https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/machine-learning-with/9781800560307/

Copy the URL from the browser address bar.

Click on the Abstract/Details tab (or it may just say Details), then scroll down and look for the Document URL.

Copy the URL from the browser address bar.

Copy the URL from the browser address bar.

A digital object identifier (DOI) is a permanent digital identifier given to an electronic document. In the database record for an article, you may see an element that looks like this:

In this case, you may get a permanent link by adding the following prefix to the DOI:
http://ezproxy.umgc.edu/login?url=http://doi.org/

Example: http://ezproxy.umgc.edu/login?url=http://doi.org/10.1037/0882-7974.21.2.401