UMGC Library

Chicago Citation Examples: E-books

Tips

  • Author—The author(s) of the book. If no author is given, then begin with the book title.
  • Book title—The title of the book.
  • Publisher, year— The name of the publisher followed by the year the book was published.

E-book from library database, with a DOI or stable or permanent link

Note

6. Leonard Barkan, Mute Poetry, Speaking Pictures (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2013), http://ezproxy.umgc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.umgc.edu /login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=503029&site=eds-live&scope=site&profile=edsebook.

Bibliographic entry

Barkan, Leonard. Mute Poetry, Speaking Pictures. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2013. http://ezproxy.umgc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.umgc.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=503029&site=eds-live&scope=site&profile=edsebook.

E-book from library database, without a DOI or stable or permanent link

Use the database name.

Note

1. Amanat Hussain, Managing Operational Risk in Financial Markets (Oxford: Butterworth-Heinemann, 2000), Books24x7.

Bibliographic entry

Hussain, Amanat. Managing Operational Risk in Financial Markets. Oxford: Butterworth-Heinemann, 2000. Books24x7.

Free Web e-book with a DOI

Note

1. Elliot Antokoletz, Musical Symbolism in the Operas of Debussy and Bartok (New York: Oxford University Press, 2008), doi:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195365825.001.0001.

Bibliographic entry

Antokoletz, Elliot. Musical Symbolism in the Operas of Debussy and Bartok. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. doi:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195365825.001.0001.

Free Web e-book without a DOI

Use the URL.

Note

2. Philip B. Kurland and Ralph Lerner, eds., The Founders’ Constitution (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987), http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

Bibliographic entry

Kurland, Philip B. and Ralph Lerner, eds. The Founders’ Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

Book chapter from a library database, with DOI or stable or permanent link

Use DOI or stable link.

Suggested format:

Note

5. Peter Barker, "Scientists of the Past" in World Almanac and Book of Facts (New York: World Almanac Education Group, 2006), 229-31, http://ezproxy.umgc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f5h&AN=28821189&login.asp&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Bibliographic entry

Barker, Peter. "Scientists of the Past." In World Almanac and Book of Facts. New York: World Almanac Education Group, 2006. http://ezproxy.umgc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f5h&AN=28821189&login.asp&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Book chapter from a library database, without a DOI or stable or permanent link

Use the database name.

See example.