UMGC Library

Chicago Citation Examples: Academic Journals

Tips

  • Author—The author(s) of the article. Authors' names are given as they are found in articles. If no author is given, then the article title should be listed first, followed by the date.
  • Article title—The title of the article. The article title should be capitalized headline style and put in quotation marks in notes and reference lists.
  • Journal/magazine title—The title of the journal or magazine in which the article was published. The journal title should be italicized and capitalized headline style in notes and reference lists.
  • Volume and issue—Include this information if it is provided for journals.
  • Date—The year, sometimes preceded by an exact date, a month, or a season, appears in parentheses after the volume and issue data.
  • Pagination—In notes, only specific pages need be cited (Unless the article as a whole is referred to). Use start and end pages, if provided (e.g. 60–79)in reference lists.
  • Date of access—No longer required in the CMOS, but can be included after page number(s).
  • Article URL—If the article is from a library database and has a DOI or a stable or permanent URL, use that; if not, use the database name.

Library database article with DOI

Note

2. Miriam Schoenfield, "Moral vagueness is ontic vagueness," Ethics 126, no. 2 (2016): 260, https://doi-org.exproxy.umuc.edu/10.1086/683541.

Bibliographic entry

Schoenfield, Miriam. "Moral vagueness is ontic vagueness." Ethics 126, no. 2 (2016): 257-282. https://doi-org.exproxy.umuc.edu/10.1086/683541.

Library database article with a stable or permanent link

Note

3. William Maiben, “A Tombeau for John Lennon, 1940-1980,” Perspectives of New Music 19, no. 1/2 (Autumn 1980-Summer 1981): 533, http://www.jstor.org/stable/832614.

Bibliographic entry

Maiben, William. “A Tombeau for John Lennon, 1940-1980.” Perspectives of New Music 19, no. 1/2 (Autumn 1980-Summer 1981): 533. http://www.jstor.org/stable/832614.

Library database article with no DOI or stable or permanent link

Use the database name.

Note

4. Niki Pantelli and Robert Tucker, "Power and Trust in Global Virtual Teams," Communications of the ACM 52, no. 12 (2009): 113-115, accessed April 20, 2010, Business Source Complete.

Bibliographic entry

Pantelli, Niki and Robert Tucker. "Power and Trust in Global Virtual Teams." Communications of the ACM 52, no. 12 (2009): 113-115. Business Source Complete.

Free Web article article with a DOI

Note

6. Patrick G. P. Charles et al., “SMART-COP: A Tool for Predicting the Need for Intensive Respiratory or Vasopressor Support in Community-Acquired Pneumonia,” Clinical Infectious Diseases 47, no. 3 (August 1, 2008): 377, doi:10.1086/589754.

Bibliographic entry

Charles, Patrick G. P. et al. “SMART-COP: A Tool for Predicting the Need for Intensive Respiratory or Vasopressor Support in Community-Acquired Pneumonia.” Clinical Infectious Diseases 47, no. 3 (August 1, 2008): 377. doi:10.1086/589754.

Free Web article without a DOI

Use the URL.

Note

7. Mark A. Hlatky et al., "Quality-of-Life and Depressive Symptoms in Postmenopausal Women after Receiving Hormone Therapy: Results from the Heart and Estrogen/Progestin Replacement Study (HERS) Trial," Journal of the American Medical Association 287, no. 5 (2002), http://jama.ama-assn.org/issues/v287n5/rfull/joc10108.html#aainfo.

Bibliographic entry

Hlatky, Mark A., Derek Boothroyd, Eric Vittinghoff, Penny Sharp, and Mary A. Whooley. "Quality-of-Life and Depressive Symptoms in Postmenopausal Women after Receiving Hormone Therapy: Results from the Heart and Estrogen/Progestin Replacement Study (HERS) Trial." Journal of the American Medical Association 287, no. 5 (2002). http://jama.ama-assn.org/issues/v287n5/rfull/joc10108.html#aainfo.

In print

Note

8. John Maynard Smith, "The Origin of Altruism," Nature 393, no. 6686 (1998): 639-40.

Bibliographic entry

Smith, John Maynard. "The Origin of Altruism." Nature 393, no. 6686 (1998): 639-40.