UMGC Library

Chicago Citation Examples: Newspapers

Tips

  • Author—The author(s) of the article. If no author is given, then the article title should be listed first.
  • Newspaper title—The title of the newspaper in which the article was published. The newspaper title should be italicized.
  • Month, day, year—The date the article was published.
  • Edition—If given.
  • Article URL—If the article is from a library database and has a DOI or a stable or permanent URL, use that, if not, use the database name.

Library database article with a stable or permanent link

Note

11. David Ignatius, "Avoiding Another 'Slam-Dunk'," The Washington Post, May 24, 2006, http://ezproxy.umgc.edu/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.ezproxy.umgc.edu/docview/410022218?accountid=14580.

Bibliographic entry

Ignatius, David. "Avoiding Another 'Slam-Dunk'." The Washington Post, May 24, 2006. http://ezproxy.umgc.edu/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.ezproxy.umgc.edu/docview/410022218?accountid=14580.

Library database article without a stable or permanent link

Use the database name.

Note

13. Eleena de Lisser, "Update on Small Business: Firms With Virtual Environments Appeal to Workers." Wall Street Journal, October 5, 1999, ProQuest Newspapers.

Bibliographic entry

de Lisser, Eleena. "Update on Small Business: Firms With Virtual Environments Appeal to Workers." Wall Street Journal, October 5, 1999. ProQuest Newspapers.

Free Web

Include the URL (or DOI if available) at the end of the citation.

Note

14. Sheryl Gay Stolberg and Robert Pear, “Wary Centrists Posing Challenge in Health Care Vote,” New York Times, February 27, 2010, http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/28/us/politics/28health.html.

Bibliographic entry

Stolberg, Sheryl Gay and Robert Pear. “Wary Centrists Posing Challenge in Health Care Vote.” New York Times, February 27, 2010. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/28/us/politics/28health.html.

In print

Note

10. William S. Niederkorn, "A Scholar Recants on His 'Shakespeare' Discovery," New York Times, June 20, 2002, Arts section, Midwest edition.

Bibliographic entry

Niederkorn, William S. "A Scholar Recants on His 'Shakespeare' Discovery." New York Times, June 20, 2002, Arts section, Midwest edition.