UMGC Library

ENGL 495: Advanced Seminar in English Language, Literature, and Writing: Citing Sources

A Library Research Guide

MLA Citation Examples

Journal Article from a Library Database:

If there is a DOI: 

Author last name, Author first name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol. #, no. #, publication date, pp. #-#. Database Name, DOI.

Robbins, Michael. "Paul Muldoon's Covert Operations." Modern Philology, vol. 109, no. 2, 2011, pp. 266-99. JSTOR, doi:10.1086/663233.


If there is no DOI, then use a URL (particularly a  permalink or stable URL, if one is available), and remove the beginning "http://" or "https://" from the link in your citation:

Author last name, Author first name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol. #, no. #, publication date, pp. #-#. Database Name, URL.

Merriam, Alan P. "Music in American Culture." American Anthropologist, vol. 57, no. 6, 1955, pp. 1173-1181. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/665962.

Print Book:

Author last name, Author first name. Book title. Publisher Name, publication date.

Jans, Nick. The Last Light Breaking: Life among Alaska's Inupiat Eskimos. Alaska Northwest Books, 1993.

E-book from a Library Database:

Author last name, Author first name. Book title. Publisher Name, publication date. Database Name, URL.

​Barkan, Leonard. Mute Poetry, Speaking Pictures. Princeton UP, 2013. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), ezproxy.umgc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=503029&site=eds-live&scope=site&profile=edsebook.

Web Site:

Author. "Web Site Title." Publication date, URL.

Poetry Foundation. "Paul Laurence Dunbar." 2016, www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poets/detail/paul-laurence-dunbar.

For more examples of MLA citations, see the library's MLA Citation Examples guide.

APA Citation Examples

Journal Article from a Library Database:

If there is a DOI: 

Author last name, author first initial. (Year). Article title. Journal title, volume(issue), pages. DOI

Sagarin, B. J., & Lawler-Sagarin, K. A. (2005). Critically evaluating competing theories: An exercise based on the Kitty Genovese murder. Teaching of Psychology, 32(3), 167–169. http://doi.org/10.1207/s15328023top3203_8


If there is no DOI, then use the home page of the journal Web site:

Author last name, author first initial. (Year). Article title. Journal title, volume(issue), pages. Retrieved from journal home page

Reitzes, D. C., & Mutran, E. J. (2004). The transition to retirement: Stages and factors that influence retirement adjustment. International Journal of Aging and Human Development, 59(1), 63-84. Retrieved from http://www.baywood.com/journals/PreviewJournals.asp?Id=0091-4150

Print Book:

Author last name, author first initial. (Year). Book title. Publication city: publisher name.

Jans, N. (1993). The last light breaking: Life among Alaska's Inupiat Eskimos. Anchorage, AK: Alaska Northwest Books.

E-book from a Library Database:

If there is a DOI: 

Author last name, author first initial. (Year). E-book titleDOI

Chaffe-Stengel, P., & Stengel, D. (2012). Working with sample data: Exploration and inference. http://doi.org/10.4128/9781606492147


If there is no DOI, then use the home page of the database:

Author last name, author first initial. (Year). E-book title. Retrieved from database home page

​Miller, L. (2008). Careers for nature lovers & other outdoor types. Retrieved from http://www.ebscohost.com

Web Site:

Author last name, author first initial. (Date). Article title. Retrieved from Web site address.

Freitas, N. (2015, January 6). People around the world are voluntarily submitting to China’s Great Firewall. Why? Retrieved from http://www.slate.com/blogs/future_tense/2015/01/06/tencent_s_wechat_worldwide_internet_users_are_voluntarily_submitting_to.html

Sea Turtle Restoration Project. (2006). Threats to sea turtles. Retrieved from http://www.seaturtleinc.org/rehabilitation/threats-to-sea-turtles/


For more examples of APA citations, see the library's APA Citation Examples guide.

Ask a Librarian