Ask a Librarian
About the Library
Course Guide for ENGL 495: Advanced Seminar in English Language, Literature, and Writing
Course Guide for ENGL 495: Advanced Seminar in English Language, Literature, and Writing: Resources
Recommended Databases for ENGL 495
LION: Literature Online
Full-text English and American poetry, drama, and prose, as well as literary criticism and author biographies.
Humanities Source Ultimate
Subjects include archaeology, the arts, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, literature, philosophy, and religion.
WILL BE DISCONTINUED AS OF JANUARY 1, 2021.
Articles and book chapters covering the humanities and social sciences.
journal titles covered in Project MUSE
Citations to biographical information and literary criticism for major international authors and individual works.
Articles and books from many subject areas (anthropology, art, business, education, history, literature, science, etc.) from the 1900s - present.
Academic Search Ultimate
Arts, humanities, science, social sciences, business, and technology journals, e-books, and other resources from 1887 - present.
Literary Sources (Gale)
All of Gale's literary databases into one cross-searchable environment. Literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Literature Resource Center
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers.
Full-text articles, reference book entries, primary source documents, and more, in a variety of subject areas, from 1975 - present.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
Multi-disciplinary resource that covers several core subjects, including art, education, ethnic studies, history, humanities, law, social sciences, technology, and women's studies.
Subject, language, and quotations dictionaries, as well as in-depth subject encyclopedias and other reference books.
Encyclopedias and other background reading in a variety of subject areas.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
E-books on a wide range of subjects. Searchable by author, title, publisher, keyword, or words anywhere in full text.
for information on searching, viewing, and downloading e-books.
Internet Archive - Texts from the Library of Congress
Large number of ebooks, some available to download.
Definitions and examples of literary terms
Online English Grammar
English Grammar guide
This site offers a collection of reference and nonfiction works as well as literature.
Bartlett's familiar quotes
10th edition f 1919 contains over 11,000 searchable quotations
Additional Library Resources
UMGC Library OneSearch
Simultaneously searches multiple Library research databases. Note: Does not include all databases.
Databases by Title (A-Z)
Alphabetized list of research databases.
UMGC E-Book Collection
Searches approximately 90% of the Library’s e-book collection. E-books can be read online, and in some cases, downloaded.
Additional E-Book Collections
Access to additional Library e-book collections.
Searches the 17 University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions (USMAI).
Ask a Librarian
Chat Hours (ET)
Tell us how we're doing
Search Tips >>
Sep 30, 2020 12:38 PM
Login to LibApps