UMGC Library

Course Guide for MBA 640: Innovation Through Marketing and Technology: Project 1 Tips

Project 1

For this project, you are being asked to analyze the market for automatic washing machines in the United States, the United Kingdom, and Germany.

You may want to consult the UMGC Library's Business Research: Finding Demographic or Psychographic Information page, which gives general guidance about how to find information about particular populations and their spending patterns, etc. The Library's Business Research: Conducting Market Research and/or Business Research: Finding Market Size Information pages may also help.

Note that to find as much information as possible for this project, you will likely need to run searches on the free web (i.e., use Google or Bing, etc.) to supplement what you find in Library databases. Be sure to carefully evaluate what you find.

This guide focuses on providing tips for using the UMGC Library's databases to find information for project 1, although links to MBA faculty-recommended non-UMGC Library resources are provided as well.

Finding Washing Machine Market Information

To find documents that discuss the market for washing machines in the three regions of interest (the United States, the United Kingdom, and Germany), you can run searches in OneSearch and ABI/INFORM Collection along the lines of:

"washing machine*" AND (market* OR "customer behavior" OR "consumer behavior" OR "customer attitude*" OR "consumer attitude*" OR "customer preference" OR "consumer preference*" OR "customer research" OR "consumer research" OR "buying behavior*") AND "united states"


and:

"washing machine*" AND (market* OR "customer behavior" OR "consumer behavior" OR "customer attitude*" OR "consumer attitude*" OR "customer preference" OR "consumer preference*" OR "customer research" OR "consumer research" OR "buying behavior*") AND ("united kingdom" OR britain OR england OR wales OR scotland OR "northern ireland" OR british OR english OR welsh OR scottish OR irish)


and:

"washing machine*" AND (market* OR "customer behavior" OR "consumer behavior" OR "customer attitude*" OR "consumer attitude*" OR "customer preference" OR "consumer preference*" OR "customer research" OR "consumer research" OR "buying behavior*") AND german*


In some cases, your search results may include links that lead you to information about market reports rather than to the reports themselves. The Library generally isn't able to obtain market reports since such reports are quite expensive, but report announcements often contain information about the reports' contents, and that information could be useful for your project 1 research.

So be sure to take a look at press releases for market research reports -- but be sure to check their dates, to make sure that they're recent enough for your assignment requirements. You should also, of course, focus on finding information about the market for washing machines in the specific areas of interest (the U.S., the U.K., and Germany).

If you aren't able to find enough information about washing machines in particular, you may find it helpful to broaden your searches. Relevant additional search terms include:

  • home appliances
  • household appliances
  • consumer appliances
  • domestic appliances
  • major appliances
  • hard goods
  • durable goods

So, if needed, you could broaden your searches by searching for:

("home appliance*" OR "household appliance*" OR "consumer appliance*" OR "domestic appliance*" OR "major appliance*" OR "hard good*" OR "durable good*") AND (market* OR "customer behavior" OR "consumer behavior" OR "customer attitude*" OR "consumer attitude*" OR "customer preference" OR "consumer preference*" OR "customer research" OR "consumer research" OR "buying behavior*") AND "united states"


and:

("home appliance*" OR "household appliance*" OR "consumer appliance*" OR "domestic appliance*" OR "major appliance*" OR "hard good*" OR "durable good*") AND (market* OR "customer behavior" OR "consumer behavior" OR "customer attitude*" OR "consumer attitude*" OR "customer preference" OR "consumer preference*" OR "customer research" OR "consumer research" OR "buying behavior*") AND ("united kingdom" OR britain OR england OR wales OR scotland OR "northern ireland" OR british OR english OR welsh OR scottish OR irish)


and:

("home appliance*" OR "household appliance*" OR "consumer appliance*" OR "domestic appliance*" OR "major appliance*" OR "hard good*" OR "durable good*") AND (market* OR "customer behavior" OR "consumer behavior" OR "customer attitude*" OR "consumer attitude*" OR "customer preference" OR "consumer preference*" OR "customer research" OR "consumer research" OR "buying behavior*") AND german*

Finding Washing Machine Industry Information

ABI/INFORM Collection 

To find relevant industry reports in ABI/INFORM Collection, enter "washing machine*" AND ("united states" OR "united kingdom" OR german*) into a search box and select Industry Report from the Document type: menu toward the bottom of the page. 

You can also find some relevant industry reports by clicking on the Browse link from the menu bar toward the top left-hand corner of the database's home page and then on the First Research link under the Industry and Market Research heading and then on the link for Appliance industry

Note that search results can be sorted by publication date as well as by relevance. You may want to re-sort your results so that the most recent documents are listed first.

Business Insights: Global 

To find relevant industry reports and other information in Business Insights: Global, select Industries from the menu bar across the top of the database's home page. 

If you select All Industries from the resulting sub-menu, you can use the search box on the left-hand side of the page to search by industry name. Searching for appliance should help you find the industry profile for "Major Household Appliance Manufacturing." Be sure to click on the links under the "Industry Information:" heading on the left-hand side of the profile page to see associated content (market research, market share reports, rankings, news, etc.) 

If you select Market Share Reports from the resulting sub-menu, you can use the search box on the left-hand side of the page to search for "washing machines" and to find "various company rankings within their industry and market share."

If you select Industry Essays from the resulting sub-menu, you can use the search box on the left-hand side of the page to search for "washing machines", which will lead you to relevant industry essays (including for "Appliances, Household"), where you can find "detailed information including... industry leaders and current conditions." 

If you select Plunkett Reports from the resulting sub-menu, you can use the search box on the left-hand side of the page to search for appliance, which will lead you to relevant Plunkett reports (including for "Small Electrical and Major Household and Kitchen Appliance Manufacturing, Including Vacuum Cleaners Industry (U.S.)"), where you can find 'analytics, extensive financial benchmarks, metrics, and revenue forecasts.'

Business Source Complete

To find relevant industry reports and other documents in Business Source Complete, enter "washing machine*" AND ("united states" OR "united kingdom" OR german*) into a search box and select Industry Profile from the Publication Type: menu toward the bottom of the page.

Note that search results can be sorted by publication date as well as by relevance. You can also use the publication date slider on the left-hand side of the search results page to limit your results to documents published within whatever time frame you specify.

Hoovers

To find relevant industry information in Hoovers, use the drop-down menu next to the search box at the top of the database's home page to select Industries and then enter 335220 (the NAICS code for major household appliance manufacturing into the search box. After clicking on the link to pull up the entry for that NAICS code, use the links on the left-hand side of the Major Household Appliance Manufacturing page to find more information about the industry, including news and analysts' reports.

IBISWorld

To find relevant industry information in IBISWorld, enter appliance in the search box on the database's home page. The industry report that you'll retrieve for major household appliance manufacturing for the United States contains an industry definition, supply chain information, major industry players, key trends, an industry SWOT, key industry data, the industry outlook, supply chain information, demand determinants, market share concentration, barriers to entry, key industry ratios, etc. Use the navigation options on the left-hand side of the industry report page to jump to specific parts of the report. (Note that searching for "washing machine" retrieves a report that focuses on commercial washing machines in the United States, which won't be very useful for your research for this particular project since this project focuses on residential washing machines.)

There is not an industry report for the United Kingdom that focuses just on washing machines, but if you enter "washing machine" "united kingdom" into the search box, you'll find an industry report for Electrical Household Appliance Retailing, which should contain some useful information.

Unfortunately, there is also not an industry report for Germany that focuses on washing machines. The most applicable report appears to be the Global Household Cooking & Appliance Manufacturing report, which you can search for by title.

Nexis Uni

To find relevant industry information in Nexis Uni, click on the Menu link in the upper left-hand corner of the database's home page and then on the Company Dossier link. Then, on the resulting page, enter the name of one of the companies mentioned in your project instructions -- whirlpool, for example -- into the Company name search box and check the box next to "Only show headquarter locations." Be sure to select a relevant PUBLIC - PARENT Headquarters entry from the results list. You can then use the links on the left-hand side of the page to find more information about the company and its industry; see, in particular, the Industry Knowledge section and the various links available from that section (Industry Overview, Recent Industry News, Industry SWOT Analysis, etc.).

Finding Additional Washing Machine Information

You can find additional useful articles for your research in UMGC Library databases such as ABI/INFORM Collection and Business Source Complete. Searches along the following lines should be helpful:

  • "washing machine*" AND (trend* OR forecast* OR predict*)
  • "washing machine*" AND (sales OR purchase* OR buy*) AND (season* OR month*)
  • "washing machine*" AND "distribution channel*"


For tips on creating an effective search, see Creating Effective Search Statements.

Additional Recommended UMGC Library Resources

There are also a handful of publications that are available through the UMGC Library that may be useful for this assignment and that have been recommended by MBA faculty, namely:

Click on the links above in order to access each of the publications listed.

Recommended Non-UMGC Library Resources

The following non-UMGC Library resources have also been recommended by MBA faculty:

Note that portions of some of the resources listed above may be restricted to subscribers. Because UMGC does not have a subscription to these resources, you will only be able to access material on these sites that's freely available.

A General Note

As noted above, whether you're searching in UMGC Library databases or on the free Web, your search results may sometimes include mentions of market reports or data compilations from market research firms such as Forrester Research, Frost & Sullivan, the Gartner Group, etc. Such reports are generally quite expensive; many cost anywhere from hundreds of dollars to tens of thousands of dollars.

That being the case, the full text of such reports are not generally available in any library research database, and the UMGC Library may not be able to obtain the full-text reports for you via our DocumentExpress interlibrary loan service.

But press releases and other documents that discuss these reports -- documents that are often available from UMGC Library databases and/or posted on the free Web -- may be useful for your research since such documents often summarize key findings from the reports.

Questions?

If you need additional assistance with finding information for project 1, or if you have questions about the requirements for the assignment, please contact your instructor.

Ask a Librarian

 

E-Mail Us

Chat Hours (ET)
Mon-Thurs:    8am-9:30pm
Fri: 8am-5pm
Sat: 11am-4pm
Sun: 4pm-9pm

Tell us how we're doing