UMGC Library

MBA 640: Innovation Through Marketing and Technology: Project 4 Tips

A Library Research Guide

Project 4

For this project, you are being asked to develop a marketing plan to increase a company's sales to other businesses in the U.S.

The tips below give suggestions for finding useful information for some of the components of project 4.

Situation Analysis

For information about finding a company's mission or vision statement, and for information about creating a mission or vision statement, see Finding a Company's Mission Statement.

To find information about how to find or create a SWOT, PEST/PESTEL/PESTLE, and/or Porter's five forces analysis for a company, see our FAQ entry on this topic.

For general company information, including headquarters location, major products/services, annual revenue, competitors, etc., the UMGC Library databases listed below may be useful.

Note that not every database will have information on every company. If you aren't able to find information about a given company in one of the databases listed below, or if you aren't able to find a particular piece of information in a database, try another database, as different databases contain different company information. In order to thoroughly research a company, you should look in multiple databases.

Business Insights: Global

To find company information in Business Insights: Global, select Companies from the menu bar across the top of the database's home page.

Selecting Company Histories from the resulting sub-menu will give you information from the International Directory of Company Histories about the history of "thousands of the world's largest and most influential companies." Note that, while some entries were last updated this year, others haven't been updated for more than 10 years. So if you're looking for information about a company whose entry hasn't been updated for a while, you may need to look in another database and/or on the company's own website to find more current information.

The SWOT Reports link can be used to find information about hundreds of global companies' strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats. Information is taken from Global Markets Direct. Reports are no more than 3 years old.

The Investment Reports link provides access to stock valuation reports, forecasts, risk assessments, financial snapshots, and company and earnings updates from Thomson Reuters for publicly traded U.S. companies.

The Financial Reports link can be used to find balance sheets, cash flow, SEC filings, company press releases, and more, for U.S. companies only.

Business Source Complete

To find company information in Business Source Complete, click on the More link from the blue menu bar toward the top left-hand side of the search page and then select Company Profiles from the resulting drop-down menu. You can then search for a company by name to find a detailed Medtrack or MarketLine report for the company, which may include an overview, key facts, a company history, key employees and their biographies, major products and services, a SWOT analysis, top competitors, locations and subsidiaries, and more.

Hoovers

To find company information in Hoovers, enter a company's name into the "Search for a Company" box at the top of the page. Company information is often quite detailed; it may include a company description (with information about the company's operations, geographic reach, sales and marketing, financial performance, and business strategy), key products and services, a SWOT report, links to news articles about the company, competitors, analyst reports, annual reports, SEC filings, geographic and business segment information, business ratios, income statements, balance sheets, cash flow statements, and more.

Mergent Online

To find company information in Mergent Online, enter a company's name into the Company Search box. Note that the search results page contains tabs that you can click on to learn more about the company, including its executives, financials, news, competitors, and more. Note, too, that many of the tabs contain sub-tabs that provide access to additional company information.

Nexis Uni

To find company information in Nexis Uni, click on the Menu link in the upper left-hand corner of the database's home page and then on the Company Dossier link. Then, on the resulting page, enter a company's name into the Company name search box. The company snapshot available from Nexis Uni may include brands, competitors, financial information, SEC filings, company reports, industry news, a SWOT analysis, mergers and acquisitions, legal cases involving the company, etc.

Additional Resources

Note that a company's own website may also be a useful source of information about the company. Information in sections of the website dedicated to investors may be particularly helpful. You can see an English version of LG Energy Solution's website at https://www.lgensol.com/en/index

Market Analysis

For industry information that will be helpful for the market analysis portion of your project, you can use IBISWorld. Enter 33591 in the search box to find industry reports that discuss the battery manufacturing industry. Reports will include industry trends, a SWOT analysis, current and historical performance data, supply chain information, demand determinants, market share concentration, etc.

You might also want to consult the following guides:

To find information about trends related to the market for electric car batteries, you can run searches in OneSearch and ABI/INFORM Complete such as:

("electric car batter*" OR "electric vehicle batter*") AND market* AND (trend* OR forecast* OR projection*)


The Library's Finding Industry Trends and Projections guide might also be a useful resource to consult.

And to find information about the existing or potential customers for electric car batteries, you can run searches in OneSearch and ABI/INFORM Complete such as:

("electric car batter*" OR "electric vehicle batter*") AND (customer* OR consumer* OR purchaser* OR buyer* OR shopper*)


To find documents that discuss customers' needs with regard to a product or service, you can add AND (need* OR require*) to the search statement:

("electric car batter*" OR "electric vehicle batter*") AND (customer* OR consumer* OR purchaser* OR buyer* OR shopper*) AND (need* OR require*)

Strategic Analysis

The industry reports from IBISWorld will also be helpful for the strategic analysis portion of your project. As noted above, you can enter 33591 in the search box to find industry reports that discuss the battery manufacturing industry. The Competitive Landscape section of reports, for example, includes key success factors, barriers to entry, etc.

To find additional documents useful for the strategic analysis portion of your project, you can run searches in OneSearch and ABI/INFORM Complete along the lines of:

[market/product/service name] AND segment* 
[market/product/service name] AND "target market*"
[market/product/service name] AND ("product strateg*" OR "brand strateg*")
[market/product/service name] AND "pric* strateg*"
[market/product/service name] AND ("distribution strateg*" OR "supply chain strateg*")
[market/product/service name] AND "market* strateg*"


Note that you may need to adjust your search terms somewhat when running these searches. In some cases, it'll help to include the word market along with the name of the market (e.g., "electric car batter* market*" OR "electric vehicle batter* market*"), while in other cases it'll be better to just search for the name of the product or service being offered (e.g., "electric car batter*" OR "electric vehicle batter*").

Financial Analysis

The industry reports from IBISWorld will also be helpful for the financial analysis portion of your project. As noted above, you can enter 33591 in the search box to find industry reports that discuss the battery manufacturing industry. The Industry Performance section of reports, for example, includes current and historic financial performance data, including industry financial ratios.

To find documents useful for the financial analysis portion of your project, you can run searches in OneSearch and ABI/INFORM Complete along the lines of:

[market/product/service name] AND "break-even analys*"
[market/product/service name] AND (forecast* OR predict*) AND (sale* OR purchas*)
[market/product/service name] AND (forecast* OR predict*) AND (expens* OR expenditure*)


Again, you may need to adjust your search terms somewhat when running these searches. In some cases, it'll help to include the word market along with the name of the market (e.g., "electric car batter* market*" OR "electric vehicle batter* market*"), while in other cases it'll be better to just search for the name of the market (e.g., "electric car batter*" OR "electric vehicle batter*").

Additional Recommended UMGC Library Resources

There are also a handful of publications that are available through the UMGC Library that may be useful for this assignment and that have been recommended by MBA faculty, namely:

Click on the links above in order to access each of the publications listed.

Recommended Non-UMGC Library Resources

The following non-UMGC Library resources have also been recommended by MBA faculty:

Note that portions of some of the resources listed above may be restricted to subscribers. Because UMGC does not have a subscription to these resources, you will only be able to access the material on these sites that's freely available.

A General Note

Whether you're searching in UMGC Library databases or on the free Web, your search results may sometimes include mentions of market reports or data compilations from market research firms such as Forrester Research, Frost & Sullivan, the Gartner Group, etc. Such reports are generally quite expensive; many cost anywhere from hundreds of dollars to tens of thousands of dollars apiece.

That being the case, the full text of such reports are not generally available in any library research database, and the UMGC Library may not be able to obtain the full-text reports for you via our DocumentExpress interlibrary loan service.

But press releases and other documents that discuss these reports -- documents that are often available from UMGC Library databases and/or posted on the free Web -- may be useful for your research since such documents often summarize key findings from the reports.

Questions?

If you need further assistance with finding information for project 4, please Ask a Librarian.

If you have questions about the requirements for project 4, please contact your instructor.

Ask a Librarian