UMGC Library: Doctor of Business Administration: Additional Resources

"Scholarly"/"academic" vs. "peer-reviewed"/"refereed"

See Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Articles for information about what's meant by the terms "scholarly" and "peer-reviewed," instructions about how to find scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, and guidance on how to tell whether a particular article is scholarly/peer-reviewed.

Artificial Intelligence

See the UMGC Library's Artificial Intelligence guide for information about how to responsibly and ethically use artificial intelligence.

Instructions for Creating Alerts

See Creating Database Alerts for information about how to set up search, table of contents, and citation alerts in order to be automatically notified by e-mail or RSS feed when new content meeting your specifications has been added to various UMGC Library databases.

Resources for Journal Information and Evaluation

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Provides information about serials published in the U.S. and abroad, including whether they are classified as scholarly/peer-reviewed.

Journal Metrics
Journal metrics from Scopus, including journals' CiteScore. See What can I do on a Source details page? for more information.
Think. Check. Submit.
This international resource "helps researchers identify trusted journals and publishers for their research" by providing checklists and other resources.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
A portal that includes journal and country metrics, with metrics going back to 1996.
Beall's List
Archived version of librarian Jeffrey Beall's list of "potential, possible, or probable predatory scholarly open-access publishers." See https://beallslist.net/#update for an updated list of possible predatory publishers.
more...less...
See also https://beallslist.net/standalone-journals/ for an archived list of problematic standalone journals and https://beallslist.net/standalone-journals/#update for an updated version of that list

Resources for Finding a Journal in Which to Publish

Elsevier Journal Finder
Allows you to enter your article's title, abstract, keywords, and/or research field in order to find Elsevier journals to which you could submit an article.
Springer Journal Suggester
Allows you to enter your article's title, text, and/or subject area in order to find Springer and/or BioMed Central journals to which you could submit an article.
Taylor & Francis Journal Suggester
Allows you to enter your article's abstract in order to find Taylor & Francis journals to which you could submit an article.
Wiley
Allows you to enter your article's title and abstract in order to find Wiley journals to which you could submit an article.

You may also want to consult the APA's guidance for Adapting a Dissertation or Thesis Into a Journal Article.

Resources for Working Papers, Grey Literature, Pre-prints, etc.

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
Provides citation information for millions of open-access documents, as well as full-text access to approximately 60% of the documents.
International Monetary Fund
Provides information about IMF working papers, going back to 1986.
National Bureau of Economic Research
Provides access to NBER working papers and other free publications.
OAIster
Provides access to millions of records for open access resources
OpenDOAR
Provides access to the contents of a selected list of open access repositories around the world.
ROAD: Directory of open access scholarly resources
Provides access to open-access resources that have been assigned an ISSN by the ISSN Network.
Social Science Research Network
Indexes journal articles and other resources in the social sciences.