Recommended Databases That Are Not Included in OneSearch
OneSearch is often a good starting point for research since this discovery tool allows you to search many databases simultaneously; see What databases are included in OneSearch? for a list of the databases that are currently included in OneSearch.
It's a good idea to also run your search in relevant databases that aren't included in OneSearch, such as the ones listed below, in order to help ensure that your search results are as comprehensive as possible. Please feel free to e-mail Cynthia Thomes for database recommendations, as the best database(s) to use for your research will depend on your research topic.
- APA PsycInfoArticles, book chapters, case studies, empirical studies, etc. for psychology and the behavioral/social sciences, from the 1800s - present.
- ScopusAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.
NOTE: The blue Sign In button is not in use by UMGC.
Recommended Databases That Are Included in OneSearch
The databases listed below are all automatically searched when you run a search in OneSearch, but you can use the links provided below to access the databases individually. Note that these databases may contain certain functionality/options that aren't available when the databases are searched via OneSearch.
- Business Source UltimateBusiness/management articles, company profiles, case studies, SWOT analyses, business videos, etc., from 1886 - present. Includes Harvard Business Review articles.
- ABI/INFORM CollectionBusiness/management articles, company profiles, case studies, industry reports, country reports, etc., from 1923 - present.
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)Full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for graduate works prior to 1997.
- ScienceDirectArticles and books covering the physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities, from 1995 - present.
NOTE: The blue Sign In button is not in use by UMGC. - JSTORArticles and books from many subject areas (anthropology, art, business, education, history, literature, science, etc.) from the 1900s - present.
- APA PsycArticlesFull-text articles from psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations, from 1894 - present.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences CollectionArticles from scholarly psychology journals; dates of coverage vary by journal title.
- SocINDEX with Full TextSociology-related articles and abstracts, as well as books and conference papers, from 1895 - present.
Recommended Resource for Data Sets
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political & Social Research)Social science data sets, covering topics such as sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, international relations, and more. Note that a free ICPSR account is needed (using your UMGC email address) to download data. See the ICPSR guide for details.
Background Reading
- Great Minds in Management: The Process of Theory Development
This ebook compiles writings from "some of the most influential and original thinkers in management." It allows an unlimited number of simultaneous users - The Encyclopedia of Management Theory
This ebook "is designed to serve as a core reference for anyone interested in the essentials of contemporary management theory." It allows an unlimited number of simultaneous users - An Introduction to Management Science: Quantitative Approaches to Decision Making
This ebook is intended to provide users "with a sound conceptual understanding of the role that management science plays in the decision-making process." It allows 1 user at a time. - Management Challenges for the 21st Century
This ebook by seminal author Peter Drucker "discusses how the new paradigms of management have changed and will continue to change our basic assumptions about the practices and principles of management.." It allows 2 simultaneous users. - Management Fundamentals
This ebook "is a succinct handbook of the essentials of management for current and future practitioners." It allows an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
Websites
- American Management AssociationThe American Management Association is "a leadership development provider in more than 40 countries worldwide"
- The Center for Evidence-Based ManagementThe Center for Evidence-Based Management is "a non-profit member organization dedicated to promoting evidence-based practice in the field of management and leadership"
- Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS)The Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) is an international association for people working in operations research and analytics
- Strategic Management SocietyThe Strategic Management Society has more than 3000 members from more than 80 countries, all of whom are interested in exchanging ideas about the strategic management process
- Techstreet Enterprise (Standards)Provides engineering standards that may be relevant for business administration. Login as you would for any UMGC library database or class with your email address and password.
Open Educational Resources
- CosmoLearning business management resourcesOpen courses related to business management
- OpenLearn management resourcesOpen courses and course material related to management
For more OER Resources (including multidisciplinary and textbooks), see the Open Educational Resources LibGuide