UMGC Library: ENGL 495: Advanced Seminar in English Language, Literature, and Writing: Resources

Recommended Databases for ENGL 495

ProQuest One Literature
Full-text English and American poetry, drama, and prose, as well as literary criticism and author biographies. (Upgrade from Literature Online, with expanded content.)
Humanities Source Ultimate
Subjects include archaeology, the arts, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, literature, philosophy, and religion.
JSTOR
Articles and books from many subject areas (anthropology, art, business, education, history, literature, science, etc.) from the 1900s - present.
Academic Search Ultimate
Arts, humanities, science, social sciences, business, and technology journals, ebooks, and other resources from 1887 - present.
MasterFILE Premier
Full-text articles, reference book entries, primary source documents, and more, in a variety of subject areas, from 1975 - present.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
Multi-disciplinary resource that covers several core subjects, including art, education, ethnic studies, history, humanities, law, social sciences, technology, and women's studies.

Oxford Reference
Subject, language, and quotations dictionaries, as well as in-depth subject encyclopedias and other reference books.
Gale eBooks
Encyclopedias and other background reading in a variety of subject areas.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
UMGC Library's main collection of ebooks on a wide range of subjects. (Faculty: The ones indicating "Unlimited User Access" can be used for assigned course readings.)
See our help page for information on viewing and downloading ebooks.

Internet Archive - Texts from the Library of Congress
Large number of ebooks, some available to download.
Literary Devices
Definitions and examples of literary terms
Online English Grammar
English Grammar guide
Bartleby.com
This site offers a collection of reference and nonfiction works as well as literature.
Bartlett's familiar quotes
10th edition f 1919 contains over 11,000 searchable quotations

Articles

UMGC Library OneSearch
Simultaneously searches multiple Library research databases. Note: Does not include all databases.
Databases by Title (A-Z)
Alphabetized list of research databases.

Ebooks

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Searches approximately 90% of the Library’s ebook collection. Ebooks can be read online, and in some cases, downloaded.
Additional Ebook Collections
Access to additional Library ebook collections.

Print Books

Library Catalog
Searches the 17 University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions (USMAI).