UMGC Library

Course Guide for ENGL 303: Critical Approaches to Literature: Citing Sources

MLA Citation Examples

Journal Article from a Library Database:

Author last name, Author first name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol. #, no. #, publication date, pp. #-#. Database Name, URL (Use the DOI instead if there is one).

*Note: remove the beginning "http://" or "https://" from the link in your citation.

Mauro, Jason. "The Shape of Despair: Structure and Vision in Keats's 'Ode on a Grecian Urn.'" Nineteenth-Century Literature, vol. 52, no. 3, 1997, pp. 289-301. JSTOR, doi:10.2307/2933996.

Print Book:

Author last name, Author first name. Book title. Publisher Name, publication date.

Manning, Susan. Poetics of Character: Transatlantic Encounters, 1700-1900. Cambridge UP, 2013.

E-book from a Library Database:

Author last name, Author first name. Book title. Publisher Name, publication date. Database Name, URL.

​Magill, Frank Northern. Notable Poets. Salem Press, 1998. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), ezproxy.umgc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=51653&site=eds-live&scope=site&profile=edsebook.

Encyclopedia Article from a Library Database:

Author last name, Author first name. "Article Title." Encyclopedia Title, edited by first name last name, Publisher Name, Publication date. Database Name, URL.

Chandler, James. "Keats, John." The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, edited by David Scott Kastan, Oxford UP, 2006. Oxford Reference, www.oxfordreference.com.ezproxy.umgc.edu/view/10.1093/acref/9780195169218.001.0001/acref-9780195169218-e-0250?rskey=p7VzeM&result=249.

For more examples of MLA citations, see the library's MLA Citation Examples guide.

Ask a Librarian

 

E-Mail Us

Chat Hours (ET)
Mon-Thurs:    8am-9:30pm
Fri: 8am-5pm
Sat: 11am-4pm
Sun: 10am-8pm

Tell us how we're doing