UMGC Library: Women's Studies: Resources

Recommended Databases for Women's Studies

Academic Search Ultimate
Arts, humanities, science, social sciences, business, and technology journals, ebooks, and other resources from 1887 - present.
Education Research Complete
Scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, in journals, ebooks, monographs, and conference papers.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
UMGC Library's main collection of ebooks on a wide range of subjects. (Faculty: The ones indicating "Unlimited User Access" can be used for assigned course readings.)
See our help page for information on viewing and downloading ebooks.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Sociology-related articles and abstracts, as well as books and conference papers, from 1895 - present.
JSTOR
Articles and books from many subject areas (anthropology, art, business, education, history, literature, science, etc.) from the 1900s - present.
Business Source Ultimate
Business/management articles, company profiles, case studies, SWOT analyses, business videos, etc., from 1886 - present. Includes Harvard Business Review articles. New upgraded content! More journals and videos.
ERIC
Education journals, books, conference proceedings, reports, and other Department of Education publications from 1960 - present.

Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World The Multimedia Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World
The Encyclopedia of Women in Today’s World looks at women today and delves into contexts of being female in the 21st century. The scope of the Encyclopedia focuses on women's status starting approximately in the year 2000 and going forward.
Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies
The Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies presents a comprehensive and engaging review of the most recent developments within the field, including the study of masculinity, the feminist implications of postmodernism, the 'cultural turn' and globalization. The authors review current research and offer critical analyses of women's and gender studies in work, the welfare state, family, education, religion, violence and war and feminist global politics.
Gender and Women's Leadership: A Reference Handbook
Provides undergraduate students with an authoritative reference resource on leadership issues specific to women and gender.

National Organization for Women
As the grassroots arm of the women’s movement, the National Organization for Women is dedicated to its multi-issue and multi-strategy approach to women’s rights, and is the largest organization of feminist grassroots activists in the United States
Women's Bureau - Department of Labor
Information on women in labor markets, including reports and statistics.
National Women's Business Council
Information for women in business.
Women's Business Enterprise National Council
The nation's leading advocate of woman owned businesses.
League of Women's Voters
Center for the Study of Women in Society
Provides research on women's lives.
International Museum of Women
A global museum focused on the lives of women.
American Women
A gateway for Library of Congress resources on Women's Studies.
Center for American Women and Politics
Women Working, 1800-1930
Harvard's working women collection, including images, articles, books, and artifacts.
Women's Studies UM: Resoures
Links to local resources for Women's Studies research.

Articles

UMGC Library OneSearch
Simultaneously searches multiple Library research databases. Note: Does not include all databases.
Databases by Title (A-Z)
Alphabetized list of research databases.

Ebooks

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Searches approximately 90% of the Library’s ebook collection. Ebooks can be read online, and in some cases, downloaded.
Additional Ebook Collections
Access to additional Library ebook collections.

Print Books

Library Catalog
Searches the 17 University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions (USMAI).

Subject Specific Open Resources:

MITOpenCourseware: Women's and Gender Studies
WGS classes focus on women, gender, race, and sexuality.
Gender and Sexuality Studies Open Courseware
A collection of women's studies courses pulled from The Open University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and The Saylor Foundation.

For more OER Resources (including multidisciplinary and textbooks), see the Open Educational Resources LibGuide