UMGC Library: Sociology: Resources

Recommended Databases for Sociology

SocINDEX with Full Text
Sociology-related articles and abstracts, as well as books and conference papers, from 1895 - present.
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Articles on sociology and related topics from SAGE e-journals, from May/June 2005 - June/July 2013 only.
Copyright and Terms of Use
The entire contents of SAGE Journals (including individual articles and other material appearing in the journals) are protected by copyright. See also the SAGE Terms of Use.
Academic Search Ultimate
Arts, humanities, science, social sciences, business, and technology journals, ebooks, and other resources from 1887 - present.
APA PsycInfo
Articles, book chapters, case studies, empirical studies, etc. for psychology and the behavioral/social sciences, from the 1800s - present.
JSTOR
Articles and books from many subject areas (anthropology, art, business, education, history, literature, science, etc.) from the 1900s - present.
Political Science Complete
Articles, books, and conference papers covering global political topics.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Covers essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.

Gale eBooks
Encyclopedias and other background reading in a variety of subject areas.
SAGE Knowledge: SAGE Reference eBook Collection
Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks covering the social sciences.

21st Century Sociology
This Reference Handbook focuses on the traditional areas of sociological inquiry, as well as documents newer and currently emerging areas of sociology.
SAGE Handbook of Sociology
A comprehensive overview of sociology.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory
Examines all key theories and the theorists behind them.
SAGE Handbook of Cultural Sociology
40 chapters cover five thematic sections: Theoretical Paradigms; Major Methodological Perspectives; Domains of Inquiry; Cultural Sociology in Contexts; Cultural Sociology and Other Analytical Approaches

Social Science Research Network
Indexes journal articles and other resources in the social sciences.
American Sociological Association
USA.gov
Portal to US government information.

Articles

UMGC Library OneSearch
Simultaneously searches multiple Library research databases. Note: Does not include all databases.
Databases by Title (A-Z)
Alphabetized list of research databases.

Ebooks

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Searches approximately 90% of the Library’s ebook collection. Ebooks can be read online, and in some cases, downloaded.
Additional Ebook Collections
Access to additional Library ebook collections.

Print Books

Library Catalog
Searches the 17 University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions (USMAI).

For more OER Resources (including multidisciplinary and textbooks), see the Open Educational Resources LibGuide