LibGuides: Sciences: Resources

Recommended Databases for the Sciences

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles and books covering the physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities, from 1995 - present.
NOTE: The blue Sign In button is not in use by UMGC.
Copyright and Terms & Conditions
'Copyright ©, Elsevier B.V., ALL RIGHTS RESERVED'
See the Elsevier B.V. TERMS & CONDITIONS WEBSITE FOR MORE INFORMATION.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Arts, humanities, science, social sciences, business, and technology journals, e-books, and other resources from 1887 - present.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Records and articles from a large number of worldwide journals in the environmental sciences, as well as e-books.
Environmental Studies in Context This link opens in a new window
The physical and social aspects of environmental issues, including earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Agriculture OneFile This link opens in a new window
Agriculture and its related fields, from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture.

Background Information

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and other background reading in a variety of subject areas.
SAGE Knowledge: SAGE Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks covering the social sciences.

Science and Politics: An A-to-Z Guide to Issues and Controversies
120-150 entries that explore the nexus of politics and science, both in the United States and in U.S. interactions with other nations.
Leadership in Science and Technology: A ReferenceHandbook
2-volume set addresses issues relevant to leadership in the realm of science and technology.

Websites

National Science Foundation
Federal agency funding scientific research.
Union of Concerned Scientists
Nonprofit promoting scientific research.
UNESCO: Natural Sciences
International body promoting scientific initiatives.
Science News
From the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences
High-impact journal featuring original research in the biological, physical, and social sciences.
American Association for the Advancement of Science
International, professional, non-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of science

Additional Library Resources

Articles

UMGC Library OneSearch
Simultaneously searches multiple Library research databases. Note: Does not include all databases.
Databases by Title (A-Z)
Alphabetized list of research databases.

E-Books

UMGC E-Book Collection
Searches approximately 90% of the Library’s e-book collection. E-books can be read online, and in some cases, downloaded.
Additional E-Book Collections
Access to additional Library e-book collections.

Print Books

Library Catalog
Searches the 17 University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions (USMAI).

Open Educational Resources

Science
Textbooks from openstax
Science Advances
Open access journal
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
Major open access journal
OER STEM Project
OER for the sciences

For more OER Resources (including multidisciplinary and textbooks), see the Open Educational Resources LibGuide

Ask a Librarian

E-Mail Us | 240-684-2020
(Hours)

What is 24/7 Library Chat?