UMGC Library: HRMN 495: Contemporary Issues in Human Resource Management Practice: Getting Started

Recommended Databases for Human Resource Management

ABI/INFORM Collection
Business/management articles, company profiles, case studies, industry reports, country reports, etc., from 1923 - present.
Includes ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry.
Business Source Ultimate
Business/management articles, company profiles, case studies, SWOT analyses, business videos, etc., from 1886 - present. Includes Harvard Business Review articles. New upgraded content! More journals and videos.
Gale Business: Insights
Global company and industry intelligence, including SWOT, market share, and financial reports, company histories, industry essays, case studies, scholarly journals, and business news.
Books24x7
Ebooks on finance, business, IT, and technical topics, including Microsoft Office.
Personalized Features in Books24X7
All users have their own accounts when they sign into Books24X7, as anonymous users. All users are anonymous to protect their privacy. This is your own account and you can save your personalized features, which will be available to you each time you sign in.

The personalized features in Books24X7 are folders, notes, and bookmarks. These features are available to all students, faculty, and staff at UMUC. You will see these features when you view a title (notes or folders options) or chapter (notes, folders, and bookmarks). You can test out and view a title and then set up some of the features described above. If you click on the My Home tab, you will see also any folders set up on the left under the heading, Personal Folders, and the features are shown in each folder or in each of the folders.

Access to Books24X7
Access is restricted to current UMUC students, faculty, and staff per the terms and conditions from Skillsoft, the vendor for Books24X7, as amended by UMUC: http://documentation.skillsoft.com/en_us/privacy/skillport_Terms_of_Use.htm.
O'Reilly
Ebooks and videos on technology and business topics. (NOTE: Having issues with your login?)
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
Full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for graduate works prior to 1997.
Citations from 1637 - present.
Academic Search Ultimate
Arts, humanities, science, social sciences, business, and technology journals, ebooks, and other resources from 1887 - present.

Background Reading

Human Resource Management : Theory and Practice
The second edition of this extensively revised text provides a critical evaluation of current developments in human resource management (HRM) through a fresh user-friendly and international approach.
Critical Thinking in Human Resource Development
This book provides a reflexive critique of the assumptions of orthodox HRD research and practice and questions the conception of humans as resources, as well as the conventional performative focus of HRD.
Human Resources for the Non-HR Manager
Human Resources for the Non-HR Manager appeals to anyone interested in management issues. The book explains why human resource issues are increasing the responsibilities of front-line managers rather than the HR department.

Websites for Human Resources Management

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Guide to Human Resources on the Internet
This online guide from the Cornell University Library provides links to freely available web resources relevant for students and practitioners of human resources and personnel management.
Society for Human Resources Management
Society for Human Resources Management has more than 575 affiliate chapters both in the United States and abroad, which provide additional programming and networking opportunities in your local area. The website includes HR strategy, information about legal issues, and more.
U.S. Department of Labor
The U.S. Department of Labor's mission is to foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights. The website contain information on a wide variety of topics, including disability resources, evaluations, hiring, and more.
U.S. Equal Opportunity Employment Commission
The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.

Additional Library Resources

Articles

UMGC Library OneSearch
Simultaneously searches multiple Library research databases. Note: Does not include all databases.
Databases by Title (A-Z)
Alphabetized list of research databases.

Ebooks

EBSCO eBooks
Searches approximately 90% of the Library’s ebook collection. Ebooks can be read online, and in some cases, downloaded.
Additional Ebook Collections
Access to additional Library ebook collections.

Print Books

USMAI Book Search
Searches the 17 University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions (USMAI).

Open Educational Resources

For OER Resources (including multidisciplinary and textbooks), see the Open Educational Resources LibGuide

Human Resources Management
The goal with this book is not only to provide the necessary academic background
information but also to present the material with a practitioner’s focus on both large and small businesses.
Human Resource Management
Human Resource Management teaches HRM strategies and theories that any manager - not just those in HR - needs to know about recruiting, selecting, training, and compensating people.
Human Relations
Human Relations addresses all of the critical topics to obtain career success as they relate to professional relationships.