Recommended Databases for Cybersecurity
- ABI/INFORM CollectionBusiness/management articles, company profiles, case studies, industry reports, country reports, etc., from 1923 - present.
- Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteResearch and development in computing and applied sciences.
- ACM Digital LibraryArticles published by the ACM (journals, magazines, and conference proceedings) and citations from major publishers in computing and information systems.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full TextCovers essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
- IEEE Computer Society Digital LibraryArticles from IEEE Computer Society magazines, transactions, and conference publications, from 1995 - present.
- Books24x7Ebooks on finance, business, IT, and technical topics, including Microsoft Office.
- Homeland Security Digital LibraryHomeland security-related U.S. documents, directives, and national strategy reports, as well as resources from universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.
- Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text CollectionCriminology and related discipline topics from SAGE e-journals, May/June 2005 to June/July 2009 only - dates of coverage vary by journal title.
- Military & Government CollectionNews pertaining to all branches of the U.S. military and government, in journals, reports, pamphlets, etc.
- O'ReillyEbooks and videos on technology and business topics. (NOTE: Having issues with your login?)
- ScienceDirectArticles and books covering the physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities, from 1995 - present.
NOTE: The blue Sign In button is not in use by UMGC.
Background Reading
- Cybersecurity Research StarterProvides a brief overview of cybersecurity.
- Cybersecurity Essentials
This book provides the foundational information you need to understand the basics of the field, identify your place within it, and start down the security certification path. - Cybersecurity Law
Written in an accessible manner, this definitive guide to cybersecurity law provides real-world examples and case studies to help readers understand the practical applications of the presented material. - Cybersecurity Lexicon
Describing the threats and vulnerabilities of critical infrastructure to cybersecurity attack, this book provides definitions for cybersecurity technical terminology and hacker jargon related to automated control systems common to buildings, utilities, and industry. - The Complete Guide to Cybersecurity Risks and Controls
Presenting the fundamental concepts of information and communication technology (ICT) governance and control, this book, shows you how to create a working, practical control structure that will ensure the ongoing, day-to-day trustworthiness of ICT systems and data.
Websites
- ComputerWorldCovers a variety f topics in the computer security industry, including cloud computing, software, emerging technology, and more.
- CybersecurityProvides information on identifying and avoiding a variety of cyberattacks, as well as action to take following a cyberattack.
- Department of Homeland Security - CybersecurityThe DHS protects the nation from foreign and domestic threats.
- International Association of Privacy ProfessionalsThe International Association of Privacy Professionals (IAPP) is a resource for professionals who want to develop and advance their careers by helping their organizations successfully manage these risks and protect their data.
- Internet Security AllianceThe mission of the ISA is to combine technology, public policy and economics to create a sustainable system of cybersecurity.
- NIST - CybersecurityNIST implements practical cybersecurity and privacy through outreach and effective application of standards and best practices necessary for the U.S. to adopt cybersecurity capabilities.
- Schneier on SecurityBruce Schneier is an internationally renowned security technologist, called a "security guru" by The Economist.
- Women in CybersecurityWomen in Cybersecurity's mission is to help build a strong gender-diverse cybersecurity workforce by facilitating recruitment, retention, and advancement for women in the field.
Additional Library Resources
Articles
- UMGC Library OneSearch
Simultaneously searches multiple Library research databases. Note: Does not include all databases. - Databases by Title (A-Z)
Alphabetized list of research databases.
Ebooks
- UMGC eBook Collection
Searches approximately 90% of the Library’s ebook collection. Ebooks can be read online, and in some cases, downloaded. - Additional Ebook Collections
Access to additional Library ebook collections.
Print Books
- Library Catalog
Searches the 17 University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions (USMAI).
Open Educational Resources
For OER Resources (including multidisciplinary and textbooks), see the Open Educational Resources LibGuide
- Information Security Journal: A Global PerspectiveInformation Security Journal: A Global Perspective aims to inform security professionals about new technologies, useful tools, and relevant research in policy and technology. We also seek to provide insight into current and existing professional development issues.
- Journal of CybersecurityJournal of Cybersecurity publishes accessible articles describing original research in the inherently interdisciplinary cyber domain.
- Journal of Cyber Security TechnologyThe Journal of Cyber Security Technology is a new journal aimed at publishing World-leading research and is dedicated to being the primary platform for research in all technical areas of cyber security.
- Journal of Information Security and ApplicationsJournal of Information Security and Applications (JISA) focuses on the original research and practice-driven applications with relevance to information security and applications.