UMGC Library: ENGL 354: American Women Writers since 1900: Resources

Recommended Databases for American Women Writers since 1900

JSTOR
Articles and books from many subject areas (anthropology, art, business, education, history, literature, science, etc.) from the 1900s - present.
ProQuest One Literature
Full-text English and American poetry, drama, and prose, as well as literary criticism and author biographies. (Upgrade from Literature Online, with expanded content.)
Humanities Source Ultimate
Subjects include archaeology, the arts, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, literature, philosophy, and religion.
America: History and Life
Articles about U.S. and Canadian history from the prehistoric era onwards, in journals published from 1964 - present.
Gale eBooks
Encyclopedias and other background reading in a variety of subject areas.
Oxford Reference
Subject, language, and quotations dictionaries, as well as in-depth subject encyclopedias and other reference books.

Dictionary of Literary Terms
Provides short definitions for hundreds of literary terms.
American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide, 2nd ed.
Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World
Early Modern Literary Studies
Peer-reviewed journal covering literature, culture, and language in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries
Cambridge History of English and American Literature
Contains hundreds of essays related to fiction, poetry, and drama
English Language and Literature Studies
Peer-reviewed open access journal covering English literature, linguistics, and translation studies.

Women Working, 1800-1930
Harvard's working women collection, including images, articles, books, and artifacts.
American Folklife Center
Ethnographic resources
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
The digitized collections from the Library of Congress.
Chronicling America
A website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages from 1789-1963.
Digital Public Library of America
Stories of national significance drawn from source materials in libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.
Poets.org
Over 1000 poet biographies and 5000 poems.
Center for the Study of Women in Society
Provides research on women's lives.
American Women
A gateway for Library of Congress resources on Women's Studies.
IPL: Literary Criticism Collection
Contains links to critical and biographical websites about authors and their works.

Articles

UMGC Library OneSearch
Simultaneously searches multiple Library research databases. Note: Does not include all databases.
Databases by Title (A-Z)
Alphabetized list of research databases.

Ebooks

EBSCO eBooks
Searches approximately 90% of the Library’s ebook collection. Ebooks can be read online, and in some cases, downloaded.
Additional Ebook Collections
Access to additional Library ebook collections.

Print Books

USMAI Book Search
Searches the 17 University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions (USMAI).