UMGC Library

Ebook Help

What is in the UMGC Ebook Collection?

The UMGC Ebook Collection 
Our main collection, available as a search box on the Library home page or at the above link. It searches the following:

What additional ebook collections are available?

Additional UMGC ebook collections
These must be searched individually and include:

Ebooks within library databases
A number of library databases include ebooks and book chapters.  Some will allow you to limit your search to "book," "book chapter," "book entry," or "reference book". 

Selected ebook collections on the Web

How do I link to an ebook?

See E-Resources:Linking to Ebooks and Journal Articles for instructions on linking to different ebook collections.

How do I search the UMGC Ebook Collection (on EBSCO)?

You can use the search box provided on the Ebooks tab of the Library's home page, or click Advanced Search for more options, where you can perform title, author, subject, and full text searching.

Search for eBooks

How do I view an ebook online?

Click the PDF Full Text link to view the ebook online, using EBSCO's eBook Viewer.  The table of contents will appear on the left.  Click the title of the chapter or section you want and the content will appear on the right.

PDF Full Text

EBSCO eBook Viewer

How do I download an ebook to my computer for offline use?

Click Full Download and follow the prompts. However, there are some things you will need beforehand: an Adobe ID, Adobe Digital Editions Software, and a My EBSCOhost account (all of which are free).

Getting Set Up

  1. Install Adobe Digital Editions
    1. Download Adobe Digital Editions (free) and run the installation on your computer.
    2. Authorize your computer.
      1. Open Adobe Digital Edition (e.g. look under Start Menu > All Programs > Adobe > Adobe Digital Editions).
      2. Click Help > Authorize Computer.
        • If you want to be able to transfer your ebooks to other devices, then
          • Select AdobeID from the eBook vendor menu
          • Click the link to Create an Adobe ID.
          • Create your Adobe username and password.
          • Enter the Adobe ID and password into Adobe Digital Editions and click the Authorize button.
        • If you do not want to transfer your ebooks to other devices, then select I want to authorize my computer without an ID click the Authorize button.
          Authorize your computer for Adobe Digital Editions
  2. Create a My EBSCOhost account.

Downloading eBooks to your computer

  1. Go to the UMGC Ebook Collection and conduct your search.
    Search for eBooks
  2. Select a title and click Download (Offline).
    Download (offline)
  3. If prompted, sign in to your My EBSCOhost account.
    Sign in to My EBSCOhost
  4. Select a checkout period and click Checkout & Download.
    NOTE: Most ebooks can be checked out for up to 12 weeks.  Some ebooks cannot be checked out and downloaded but can only be read online. 
    Checkout & Download
  5. You will then have the choice to Open or Save.
    Open or Save
  6. In Adobe Digital Editions, you can click on the Library icon to view of all the ebooks you have downloaded, then select the one you would like to read.
    Library View

    Reading View
  7. Note: To open Adobe Digital Editions later, go under Start Menu > Programs > Adobe > Adobe Digital Editions.

To Return an ebook

If you finish with an ebook before it expires, you can return it and make it available to others. In Adobe Digital Editions, right click on the cover of the ebook and select the option to Return Borrowed Item and then click the Return button to confirm.

How do I download an ebook to a mobile device?

Ask a Librarian

 

E-Mail Us | 240-684-2020
(Hours)


Have a comment?