UMGC Library: ENGL 303: Critical Approaches to Literature: Resources

Recommended Databases for English

JSTOR
Articles and books from many subject areas (anthropology, art, business, education, history, literature, science, etc.) from the 1900s - present.
ProQuest One Literature
Full-text English and American poetry, drama, and prose, as well as literary criticism and author biographies. (Upgrade from Literature Online, with expanded content.)
Humanities Source Ultimate
Subjects include archaeology, the arts, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, literature, philosophy, and religion.
Academic Search Ultimate
Arts, humanities, science, social sciences, business, and technology journals, ebooks, and other resources from 1887 - present.

Gale eBooks
Encyclopedias and other background reading in a variety of subject areas.
Oxford Reference
Subject, language, and quotations dictionaries, as well as in-depth subject encyclopedias and other reference books.

Articles

UMGC Library OneSearch
Simultaneously searches multiple Library research databases. Note: Does not include all databases.
Databases by Title (A-Z)
Alphabetized list of research databases.

Ebooks

EBSCO eBooks
Searches approximately 90% of the Library’s ebook collection. Ebooks can be read online, and in some cases, downloaded.
Additional Ebook Collections
Access to additional Library ebook collections.

Print Books

USMAI Book Search
Searches the 17 University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions (USMAI).

English Language and Literature Studies
Peer-reviewed open access journal covering English literature, linguistics, and translation studies.
Studies in Gothic Fiction
Online peer-reviewed academic journal concentrating on the Gothic from the 18th Century to the presnet
Inquire: Journal of Comparative Literature
A peer-reviewed, open access journal from graduate students at the University of Alberta's comparative literature program
Early Modern Literary Studies
Peer-reviewed journal covering literature, culture, and language in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries

For more OER Resources (including multidisciplinary and textbooks), see the Open Educational Resources LibGuide