UMGC Library: ENGL 240: Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, and Drama: Resources

Recommended Databases for English

ProQuest One Literature
Full-text English and American poetry, drama, and prose, as well as literary criticism and author biographies. (Upgrade from Literature Online, with expanded content.)
JSTOR
Articles and books from many subject areas (anthropology, art, business, education, history, literature, science, etc.) from the 1900s - present.
Humanities Source Ultimate
Subjects include archaeology, the arts, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, literature, philosophy, and religion.
Academic Search Ultimate
Arts, humanities, science, social sciences, business, and technology journals, ebooks, and other resources from 1887 - present.
MasterFILE Premier
Full-text articles, reference book entries, primary source documents, and more, in a variety of subject areas, from 1975 - present.

If you're looking for background information about a writer or text, try these resources:

Oxford Reference
Subject, language, and quotations dictionaries, as well as in-depth subject encyclopedias and other reference books.
ProQuest One Literature
Full-text English and American poetry, drama, and prose, as well as literary criticism and author biographies. (Upgrade from Literature Online, with expanded content.)
Gale eBooks
Encyclopedias and other background reading in a variety of subject areas.

Dictionary of Literary Terms
Provides short definitions for hundreds of literary terms.
Poetry Foundation
Poetry Society of America
Project Gutenberg
A source of ebooks for works of literature in the Public Domain.

Articles

UMGC Library OneSearch
Simultaneously searches multiple Library research databases. Note: Does not include all databases.
Databases by Title (A-Z)
Alphabetized list of research databases.

Ebooks

EBSCO eBooks
Searches approximately 90% of the Library’s ebook collection. Ebooks can be read online, and in some cases, downloaded.
Additional Ebook Collections
Access to additional Library ebook collections.

Print Books

USMAI Book Search
Searches the 17 University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions (USMAI).