UMGC Library

Course Guide for BEHS 210: Introduction to Social Sciences: Recommended Library Databases

Recommended Library Databases

Library Databases to Use, Plus Examples of Keyword Searches

Here are some databases to use, arranged by subject area, plus ways to create keyword searches in a database. Of course, you will choose keywords based on your research topic.

Psychology

Databases

Sample keyword search

  • racism AND (depression OR "mental health")

Sociology

Databases

Sample keyword search

  • racism AND (poverty OR income)

Gerontology

Databases

Sample keyword search

  • racism AND ("older adults" OR "older people" OR elderly)

Political Science

Databases

Sample keyword search

  • racism AND elections

Anthropology

Databases

Sample keyword search

  • "indigenous peoples" AND racism

Limiting Your Search

When searching for journal articles, look for two handy "limiters" in the database--usually they will be check-boxes. 

  • Full text only
    • This lets you limit your search to full-text articles only. That means the results you get will be primarily complete articles that you can read right away (as opposed to just article summaries). 
  • Scholarly (peer-reviewed) only
    • Some assignments require you to use scholarly articles (as opposed to magazine or newspaper articles). You can limit your search results to find only articles from scholarly (also known as peer-reviewed) journals.

Ask a Librarian

 

E-Mail Us

Chat Hours (ET)
Mon-Thurs:    8am-9:30pm
Fri: 8am-5pm
Sat: 11am-4pm
Sun: 10am-8pm

Tell us how we're doing