UMGC Library

Get Help: Research Help

Get Started

Get Started VideosGet Started with the Library!
Quick videos to help you get started with your research and citations.

Finding

Finding

Evaluating

Evaluating

Using

Using

Doing Research


Tools

Ask a Librarian

 

E-Mail Us | 240-684-2020
(Hours)


Have a comment?

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How do I find individual databases to search?

A: From the the UMGC Library home page: Click on Databases by Title (A-Z) (near the center of the screen). This will take you to the entire list of the UMGC library's databases.

Q: How do I find full text articles?

A: Limit your search in advance in OneSearch by putting a check mark at Full-text only below the search bar. You can also select Full Text along the left side of your search results. 

Q: How do I find e-books?

A: You can search for e-books (also known as ebooks, electronic books, or online books) by clicking on the E-Books tab on the UMGC Library's home page. A list of the UMGC Library's e-book databases can be found at What is in the UMGC E-Book Collection? and What additional e-book collections are available? 

Q: How do I use Google Scholar?

A: See these Tips for Searching Google Scholar.

Q: Where can I find a list of encyclopedias and dictionaries?

A: Find a list of encyclopedias and dictionaries available through UMGC from our Research Guide for Dictionaries and Encyclopedias.

Q: How can I find primary sources?

A: Find information and search tips on finding primary sources from our Research Guide for Primary Sources.

Q: How can I find case studies?

A: Find information from our Business Research Tutorial on Finding Case Studies.

Q: How can I find seminal or highly cited articles on a topic?

A: See these tips on Finding Seminal or Highly Cited Articles on a Topic.

Q: How can I find how many times an article has been cited, and by which articles?

A: See these tips for Cited Reference Searching.