UMGC Library

Library Newsletter - Fall 2020

Covid-19 and the UMGC Library

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, UMGC employees began working from home in March 2020, and this is expected to continue through at least mid-May, 2021. Because the UMGC Library is focused mainly on providing online academic research collections and services for students, faculty, and staff, the transition to full telework was mostly seamless.

Book borrowing and delivery had to be put on hold until the UMGC offices reopen, or other arrangements can be made. While phone service has not been available, the Library is looking into options for fulfilling this service in the spring semester. The librarians and staff and various Library teams continue to meet frequently via Zoom to work on projects, resolve issues, and coordinate electronic resources and services.

The usage of the library reference services and electronic collections was at an all-time high over the summer when many students were home and focusing on schoolwork. During the fall semester requests remain steady. It's clear that students and faculty are benefiting from the library and our resources more than ever and we are glad that we have been able to continue to provide the same quality resources and services that UMGC students and faculty have come to expect.

Electronic Resources News

Changes, unless otherwise noted, were effective July 1, 2020.

Additions

  • Business Insights: Global (upgrade from Business Insights: Essential)
    Global company and industry intelligence, including SWOT, market share, and financial reports, company histories, industry essays, case studies, scholarly journals, and business news.
  • College in Context
    "Interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation."  Includes news, images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
  • Harvard Business Review for Course Work
    HBR articles, available in Business Source Complete, will now allow linking from the classroom for use as course readings.
  • Humanities Source Ultimate
    Subjects include archaeology, the arts, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, literature, philosophy, and religion.  
  • IBISWorld
    US industry/market research, plus global, China, and Canada industry research. 
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega
    ​Multi-disciplinary resource that covers several core subjects, including art, education, ethnic studies, history, humanities, law, social sciences, technology, and women's studies.
  • Sage  Business Cases
    Includes cases about accounting, economics, ethics and corporate social responsibility, HR management, international business, leadership, marketing, operations management, and more.

Discontinuations

JSTOR Changes

  • Collections being added, July 1, 2020
    • Arts & Sciences V: Literature, Art & Art History, Philosophy, Classical Studies
    • Arts & Sciences XI: Language & Literature, History, Art & Art History with American Studies, Asian Studies, Latin American Studies, African American Studies
    • Arts & Sciences XIV: Language & Literature, Political Science, Communications Studies, Archaeology, Asian Studies
  • Collections being dropped, January 1, 2021
    • Business III: economics, administration, finance
    • Ecology & Botany: biodiversity, climate change, conservation

UMGC Library Staff News

Presentations and Publications 

  • Stephen Miller, Associate Vice President, UMGC Library, with assistance from Kee-Young Moon, Digital Services Librarian, Mariette Largess, Digital Asset Services Librarian, and Colleen Quinn, Reference and Instruction Librarian, coordinated and hosted a virtual conference of the Congress of Academic Library Directors of Maryland on September 15th and 16th. Held online using Zoom, the conference featured an invited keynote speaker, business meeting, and 7 presentations on topics of interest to the consortium.  The Congress of Academic Library Directors includes the library directors or equivalent for all of Maryland's post-secondary academic institutions, including the University System of Maryland schools, community colleges, and independent colleges and universities.
  • John Coogan, Electronic Resources & Systems Librarian, presented E-Resources: Troubleshooting and User Support for Patrons at a Distance at the Bridging the Spectrum Symposium at The Catholic University of America in Washington, DC, in February 2020.   
  • Julie Harding, Assistant Director, Public Services, and Ryan Shepard, Reference and Instruction Librarian, published an article entitled "The Lifecycle of a Research Tutorial: From Concept to Implementation and Beyond" in the Journal of Electronic Resources Librarianship
    Harding, J., & Shepard, R. (2020). The lifecycle of a research tutorial: From concept to implementation and beyond. Journal of Electronic Resources Librarianship, 32(1). https://doi.org/10.1080/1941126X.2019.1709734
  • Reference and Instruction Librarians Edward O'Donnell, Colleen Quinn, and Ryan Shepard presented a poster at the virtual 2020 Towson Conference for Academic Libraries in August. The poster, entitled Open for Business: UMGC Library's Online Response to Covid-19, showcased the UMGC Library's seamless transition to full telework in response to the Covid-19 pandemic. Edward, Colleen, and Ryan also participated in the Congress of Academic Library Directors annual meeting to discuss the Library's transition to full telework.
  • Edward O'Donnell, Reference and Instruction Librarian published two website reviews in the Internet Resources column of Public Services Quarterly: Zooniverse.org and Politifact.com.

Other Library Staff News

  • Melissa Foge was promoted to Librarian II after serving as Librarian I for three years.
  • Edward O'Donnell, Reference and Instruction Librarian, along with Mark Irwin, a member of Maryland History's Board of Directors, and Shelby Zimmerman, a PhD candidate in Modern Irish History, served as judges for the 2020 Digital Maryland History Day Contest. The theme for this year's contest was Breaking Barriers in History.

Turnitin Update

TurnItIn Now Integrated Into Classrooms and Managed by the Office of Academic Integrity and Accountability (OAIA)

The TurnItIn service has recently been integrated directly into classrooms and is now managed by UMGC's Office of Academic Integrity and Accountability (OAIA).  The Library continues to provide access to public and student-facing information about TurnItIn, but no longer manages the service directly. 

UMGC’s Technical Support is prepared to help faculty and students with integrated Turnitin. Contact them first in any situation where you are having a problem.

Faculty and Chairs can visit the OAIA TurnItIn page in Engage for more information.

For Our Faculty

Library Liaisons

The UMGC Library provides library liaison services to UMGC faculty. We welcome the opportunity to work closely with faculty to provide tailored library services for individual classes, whether it be visiting your online or face-to-face class, assisting in adding information literacy components to specific course assignments or projects, or providing handouts or online resources customized to your discipline or current course topic. Please keep the liaison librarians in mind when you have library related questions, need extra help with research, or need instruction on how to use our resources.

Research Assignment Guidelines

Research assignments may prove difficult for students who have limited experience with conducting college-level research. Based on UMGC librarians’ extensive work helping students with research assignments, we offer Research Assignment Guidelines for faculty for effective assignment design.

Library Instruction

Please complete the Faculty Request for Library Instruction form to schedule one or more sessions for your classes.

Need instruction but don't have time to schedule a facilitated session? Consider adding a stand-alone instruction module to your online classroom or add a link to the Library Research Tutorial. Please contact your library liaison for more information.

Questions? Comments? Need more information? Please contact Julie Harding, Assistant Director, Public Services, or the UMGC Library.

We look forward to working with you!

Ask a Librarian

 

E-Mail Us

Chat Hours (ET)
Mon-Thurs:    8am-9:30pm
Fri: 8am-5pm
Sat: 11am-4pm
Sun: 10am-8pm

Tell us how we're doing