Academic Search Ultimate, an upgrade to the multidisciplinary database Academic Search Complete, is now included in the Library’s collection of resources. Academic Search Ultimate features even more peer-reviewed, full-text journals students and faculty can use to conduct research.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest) now includes the ProQuest Historical Newspapers collection, in addition to their current versions. The following newspapers are now included:
Ever wonder which UMUC program chair takes care of which course, or which course has which program chair? Find out by going to the Program Chairs Database in Engage.
In addition to program chairs, you can also find out which faculty are teaching a course and which class section they are assigned to. Just click on the button marked 'C' at the right of a row of course information.
We welcome any comments or corrections to the information, which you can submit via the "Have a question or comment?" link at the top right of the display." You can also contact us directly at Ask a Librarian.
Megan Davis, Reference and Instruction Librarian, Melissa Foge, Reference and Instruction Librarian, Julie Harding, Assistant Director, Public Services, and Chris Moua, former UMUC Library Associate, presented Where is My Reading? The Effect of Textbook-Free Classrooms on the Reference Desk in April at the 2018 Distance Library Services Conference in San Antonio, TX.
Chris Moua, former UMUC Library Associate, and Ed O’Donnell, Reference and Instruction Librarian, presented Open Education Resources: A UMUC Library Collaboration at the SUNYLA Midwinter Virtual Conference on in, February, 2018.
Cynthia Thomes, Reference and Instruction Librarian, served on the Open Educational Resources and Textbook Alternatives: State of the Art and Lessons Learned panel in April at the 2018 Distance Library Services Conference in San Antonio, TX. Also included on the panel were Mary Ann Cullen, Associate Department Head Georgia State University Library, Heather Blicher, Online Learning Librarian, Northern Virginia Community College, Brenda Smith, Open Education Librarian, Thompson Rivers University, and Kristin Woodward, Online Programs and Instructional Design Coordinator, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.
John Coogan has assumed electronic resources management responsibilities from Lenore England (see below) and is now "Electronic Resources & Systems Librarian."
Longtime employee Lenore England retired from UMUC on June 29, 2018. During her nineteen years with UMUC she served as Electronic Resources Librarian and later Assistant Director for Electronic Resources. As our online library is focused on the electronic resources collection, Lenore’s work in coordinating with vendors and state library consortia, preparing licenses and contracts, negotiating contract terms and conditions, coordinating payments and managing other business processes, among numerous other duties, has been critical to maintaining the quality and strength of the library collections and services. In addition to her UMUC work, Lenore was active within the University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions Library Consortium participating on and leading consortial electronic resources groups, as well as with the American Library Association, receiving an ALA President’s citation in 2015 for her work for revitalizing and building highly successful fundraising operations for the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services, a division of ALA. Lenore was a critical part of the management and leadership team of the library and we have greatly valued her knowledge and wisdom, perspective, and sage advice and counsel over the years. We wish her the best in her retirement!
This summer, two enterprising interns have had the honor of working in the UMUC archives. Undergraduates Teleah Williams and Nia Merriweather undertook the monumental task of performing an inventory of our newly arrived, unprocessed collection from the Asia Division, as well as taking on a number of small projects that will help make the archives more organized and provide greater accessibility to our records. A great example of the work they did is the digitization of Alumni photos by Teleah, which will eventually be made available for public use, and Nia’s inventory of our newsletter collection; this will allow us to determine what volumes are missing and fill in the gaps to complete our collection.
These internships are done in partnership with Prince George’s County’s Summer Youth Enrichment Program, Youth@Work. This program allows young students to participate in career development, receive training in valuable life-skills and have the opportunity for summer employment. Students are required to undergo job readiness training prior to applying for summer positions. This training teaches skills such as communication, customer service, and teamwork, ensuring that they are better prepared for the workplace. Once this training is complete, the students are able to apply for positions with companies working with the Youth@Work program.
While Teleah and Nia do not intend to become archivists (despite our best efforts to convert them), they have learned about working in a less than traditional work environment, and have developed an understanding of the importance and value of organized record keeping for an institution. Nia and Teleah finished their time with us on August 3rd but have certainly left their mark; we are so grateful for Nia and Teleah’s work!
The Library has a new research tutorial! Secrets of My Research Success has been replaced with an updated tutorial and will no longer be supported by the Library. The new, modular tutorial takes the student through the research process, beginning with how to write a research question. It also includes information on database searching, scholarship, citation, and evaluation. Each of the modules includes learning materials, a video and an interactive quiz. There is also a final assessment quiz at the end that can be emailed to the student, or to the faculty member.
To embed this tutorial into your model classroom, use the following link:
The UMUC Library provides library liaison services to UMUC faculty. We welcome the opportunity to work closely with faculty to provide tailored library services for individual classes, whether it be visiting your online or face-to-face class, assisting in adding information literacy components to specific course assignments or projects, or providing handouts or online resources customized to your discipline or current course topic. Library liaisons have been actively involved in The Undergraduate School's e-resource project by providing assistance in locating open access e-resources. Please keep the liaison librarians in mind when you have library related questions, need extra help with research, or need instruction on how to use our resources.
Please complete the Faculty Request for Library Instruction form to schedule one or more sessions for your classes.
Need instruction but don't have time to schedule a facilitated session? Consider adding a stand-alone instruction module to your online classroom. Please contact your library liaison for more information.
We look forward to working with you!