The UMUC Library recently made available an enhanced version of Nursing Reference Center (called Nursing Reference Center Plus), which provides core measures, nursing management & leadership topics with CEUs, nursing care plans, nursing informatics, risk management, and videos.
LexisNexis, the vendor for the current LexisNexis Academic (LNA) database, will discontinue LNA in 2017 and replace with Nexis Uni. The UMUC Library will make the switch to Nexis Uni in December 2017. For more information, please see the Lexis Uni site.
Various members of the UMUC Library staff have published and presented in a variety of venues over the past year.
Renee Brown has been promoted to University Archivist. She’s worked tirelessly to organize, process, and promote the collections in the Archives and really deserves this honor. We are happy she is able to focus fully on the Archives now, and expect to see great things coming from it in the near future.
What’s new in the Archives? Well, the University Archives is getting a chance to share some of its treasures with the wider UMUC community via The MAX. The MAX (aka: The Mobile Archives Experience) is a pop up display that features some items from the Archives (including photos of the Honey Bucket, and the Pope) on one side, and a timeline of UMUC’s development and various historical photos on the other. It was unveiled on June 8th, 2017 at the Alumni Reception and Awards Dinner and included a table featuring some of the treasures. Currently, the MAX is in Largo I, and after that it will be moving to various UMUC locations over the next year. Keep your eye out for it!
In early September we'll see the digitization of the Marylander. The Marylander was the school newspaper prior to UMUC leaving College Park. It continued after UMUC became a standalone school and focused mostly on overseas news and events.
We are also in the process of uploading our collection of European yearbooks to make them available online to alumni. If you have any old yearbooks you’d like to donate, please let us know! We would love to have them.
The staff is also busy unpacking boxes from Europe that have been in storage for over ten years. These boxes were packed by Denise Sokolowski (the European Librarian) and we cannot thank her enough for taking the time to make sure this irreplaceable collection was sent to us. As we sort these boxes we are moving them into relevant collections. Some of them might even be digitized and made available online.
Archives Interesting Fact: Did you know that UMUC was the first school to award a graduate degree in Bermuda? We were!
If you’d like to keep up with the Archives (or donate items), look for us on Engage.
The UMUC Library provides library liaison services to UMUC faculty. We welcome the opportunity to work closely with faculty to provide tailored library services for individual classes, whether it be visiting your online or face-to-face class, assisting in adding information literacy components to specific course assignments or projects, or providing handouts or online resources customized to your discipline or current course topic. Library liaisons have been actively involved in The Undergraduate School's e-resource project by providing assistance in locating open access e-resources. Please keep the liaison librarians in mind when you have library related questions, need extra help with research, or need instruction on how to use our resources.
The Graduate School
The Undergraduate School
Center for Innovation in Learning & Student Success
Please complete the Faculty Request for Library Instruction form to schedule one or more sessions for your classes.
Need instruction but don't have time to schedule a facilitated session? Consider adding a stand-alone instruction module to your online classroom. Please contact your library liaison for more information.
We look forward to working with you!